Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2018, 05:19 AM   #183
2 Rivet Member
 
skiphoyt's Avatar
 
Dataw Island , South Carolina
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 36
You are correct..they are mounted on the cabinet as you enter the coach through the side door. One is for the Truma furnace and the other for the A/C. Both are affected by the Czone panel heat. Quick fix for now may be to just disconnect this panel and use the one in the aft until they come up with a solution.
__________________

skiphoyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2018, 06:10 AM   #184
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 9,189
Disappointing that AS located these sensors in such an obviously bad spot. In certain trailer models they put the HVAC sensors in a closet right behind the television, I believe, which generated heat and gave false hot readings.



https://www.google.com/search?q=AC+s...=airforums.com


__________________

OTRA15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2018, 01:16 PM   #185
Wannabe RV'er in training
 
Alex AVI's Avatar

 
2018 Interstate Lounge Ext
High Desert , Las Vegas , Nevada
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 1,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by skiphoyt View Post
You are correct..they are mounted on the cabinet as you enter the coach through the side door. One is for the Truma furnace and the other for the A/C. Both are affected by the Czone panel heat. Quick fix for now may be to just disconnect this panel and use the one in the aft until they come up with a solution.
SKIPHOYT - Ok, great you confirmed this. Are you handy enough to move those sensors yourself? I would do it in a heartbeat if it was my rig, preferably on the opposite side of cabinetry under countertop extension. The Dometic sensor is behind the bigger cover held by 2 screws. The Truma sensor/cover is smaller unit, that is a push-in held by clips behind. It might have 2 wires that are spade connected or the newer that has a plug-type quick connect. You ought be able to access both by removing the drawers and move someplace temporarily, even laying on the floor would be better than directly above a heat source. From a design standpoint, even shielding the sensors from the CZONE panel would not be ideal because the surrounding cabinet material would have a considerable temp increase compared to other side of cabinetry. These sensors are not only going to react to ambient air temp but also the mounting surface temp. So it can not be near doors or windows that have erratic temp fluctuations. I personally prefer the sensors mounted on cabinet face-frame facing the center aisle right underneath counter height since that is the "sleeping height level" and is ambient air center of rv. But that may not be available due to the drawers occupying most of that real estate. Best of luck to you.


Name:   dometic-3313107-066-thermostat-sensor-cap-cover-black-3_200x200.jpeg
Views: 97
Size:  4.3 KB


Name:   E10102.jpg
Views: 93
Size:  2.7 KB

Click image for larger version

Name:	Truma_FFC2_afstandsvoeler.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	44.0 KB
ID:	328740
Alex AVI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2018, 01:36 PM   #186
2 Rivet Member
 
skiphoyt's Avatar
 
Dataw Island , South Carolina
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex AVI View Post
SKIPHOYT - Ok, great you confirmed this. Are you handy enough to move those sensors yourself? I would do it in a heartbeat if it was my rig, preferably on the opposite side of cabinetry under countertop extension. The Dometic sensor is behind the bigger cover held by 2 screws. The Truma sensor/cover is smaller unit, that is a push-in held by clips behind. It might have 2 wires that are spade connected or the newer that has a plug-type quick connect. You ought be able to access both by removing the drawers and move someplace temporarily, even laying on the floor would be better than directly above a heat source. From a design standpoint, even shielding the sensors from the CZONE panel would not be ideal because the surrounding cabinet material would have a considerable temp increase compared to other side of cabinetry. These sensors are not only going to react to ambient air temp but also the mounting Ti g surface temp. So it can not be near doors or windows that have erratic temp fluctuations. I would like them mounted on cabinet face-frame facing the center aisle right underneath counter height since that is the "sleeping height level" but that may not be available due to the drawers occupying most of that real estate. Best of luck to you.

Attachment 328738

Attachment 328739

Attachment 328740
Great information and similar to what I was thinking. The Truma sensor does not seem to be as affected as the Dometic which makes sense. I did dentistry for 40 years so this should be an easier project than placing an implant on the upper left. I will spend some time with it tomorrow and let you know the results. All the forum members have been so welcoming to this newbie and I thank you!
skiphoyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2018, 01:59 PM   #187
Wannabe RV'er in training
 
Alex AVI's Avatar

 
2018 Interstate Lounge Ext
High Desert , Las Vegas , Nevada
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 1,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTRA15 View Post
Disappointing that AS located these sensors in such an obviously bad spot. In certain trailer models they put the HVAC sensors in a closet right behind the television, I believe, which generated heat and gave false hot readings.
OTRA15 - one would think AS learned their lesson. Here's a pic of my sensor. While it is not above the FireFly controller (which is not as warm as a CZONE panel), it is directly behind and on top of Samsung tv (not on the pic as I was doing the bracket mod when I took this pic). The only reason I have not relocated it is because we never use that rear tv.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20181129_115042.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	234.2 KB
ID:	328744  
Alex AVI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 05:59 PM   #188
2 Rivet Member
 
skiphoyt's Avatar
 
Dataw Island , South Carolina
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 36
The fix for the wrong placement of temperature sensors

Quote:
Originally Posted by skiphoyt View Post
You are correct..they are mounted on the cabinet as you enter the coach through the side door. One is for the Truma furnace and the other for the A/C. Both are affected by the Czone panel heat. Quick fix for now may be to just disconnect this panel and use the one in the aft until they come up with a solution.
Airstream has been very attentive and helpful in coming up with an acceptable solution and easy fix. They sent the directions including hole size and suggested placement of the Truma and a/c sensors. They also sent a plaque to cover the holes where the sensors were removed. See picture attached...it took about an hour to relocate and I am pleased with the outcome. Thank you Colonial and Airstream for your attention to this. Wondering if the sensors on other 19s are in the same place or since mine was an early production it had this mistake?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	74B56AAB-354F-4D12-B07B-8E71F3A5A36B.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	203.6 KB
ID:	331470  
skiphoyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 01:49 AM   #189
Wannabe RV'er in training
 
Alex AVI's Avatar

 
2018 Interstate Lounge Ext
High Desert , Las Vegas , Nevada
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 1,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by skiphoyt View Post
Airstream has been very attentive and helpful in coming up with an acceptable solution and easy fix. They sent the directions including hole size and suggested placement of the Truma and a/c sensors. They also sent a plaque to cover the holes where the sensors were removed. See picture attached...it took about an hour to relocate and I am pleased with the outcome. Thank you Colonial and Airstream for your attention to this. Wondering if the sensors on other 19s are in the same place or since mine was an early production it had this mistake?
SKIPHOYT - Great that it's all worked out for you. IMHO it still would've been best if a/c and heater sensors are positioned away from big doors. That sorta the equivalent of putting stick house thermostat near the main entrance to foyer. But given the original problematic location, at least it's away from the C-Zone. And I can understand why they want the sensors close to the C-Zone panel. Nice Airstream plaque. Look like it been there from the start (had you not told us)
Alex AVI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 02:44 AM   #190
2 Rivet Member
 
skiphoyt's Avatar
 
Dataw Island , South Carolina
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 36
Alex AVI...agree about the compromise placement. I did search for a better location away from the large door but....too tight on the other side of the galley with the sliding drawers and didn’t want to stick them on the front panel ‘esthetics’. In the end took the easy way out figuring that in this ‘tiny house’ it was like living in the foyer. Only concern is the extra weight added with the plaque or plate cover for the previous holes, it actually is a high quality heavy piece they designed for this ��. Thanks for following my trials and tribulations and your suggestions during this adjustment time with our new addition.
skiphoyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 04:21 AM   #191
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 9,189
Thanks for the update!
OTRA15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 09:08 AM   #192
2 Rivet Member
 
Naperville , Illinois
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 29
Fusion is trash

The Fusion Infotainment System is terrible. It constantly shuts off and recycles spontaneously often making a very loud and annoying noise for several minutes first, particularly when something is plugged into the USB attachment. This is a replacement unit from the first one. Also, although it is advertised at the camper van comes with AM and FM radio, that is not true. The AM is no longer working because they removed some sort of coil when changing to this infotainment system. Overall, my satisfaction level with this infotainment system is absolutely zero! Also, the navigation is extremely primitive and in no way can compete or hold a candle to using the navigation on my iPhone. I am completely dissatisfied with it and they really need to figure out a different method or different company to use. I use AM radio all the time and its ridiculous that a $160,000 vehicle does not have it.
drpeggau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 12:20 PM   #193
Contributing Member
 
Pahaska's Avatar
 
2014 Interstate Ext. Coach
Austin (Hays County) , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,388
Images: 3
I had the Kenwood that preceded the Fusion. Within 24 hours of buying my AI, I hated the thing.

I use a large-screen Garmin trucker's GPS on top of the dash. The big advantage is that I never have to lower my eyes off the road since it shows speed in large type. With photogray glasses, the speedometer is hard to read in bright conditions. I can easily update the maps on the Garmin on my desktop computer each month.

I ripped out the Kenwood and replaced it with a Kenwood radio, CD player. Plug compatible and great human factors. Big icons and a volume knob that was just two tiny buttons on the original Kenwood.

I think that if I had the Fusion, I would do the same.
__________________
John W. Irwin
2014.5 Touring Coach, "Sabre-Dog IV"
WBCCI #9632
Pahaska is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 12:27 PM   #194
2 Rivet Member
 
skiphoyt's Avatar
 
Dataw Island , South Carolina
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 36
Agree 100%

Quote:
Originally Posted by drpeggau View Post
The Fusion Infotainment System is terrible. It constantly shuts off and recycles spontaneously often making a very loud and annoying noise for several minutes first, particularly when something is plugged into the USB attachment. This is a replacement unit from the first one. Also, although it is advertised at the camper van comes with AM and FM radio, that is not true. The AM is no longer working because they removed some sort of coil when changing to this infotainment system. Overall, my satisfaction level with this infotainment system is absolutely zero! Also, the navigation is extremely primitive and in no way can compete or hold a candle to using the navigation on my iPhone. I am completely dissatisfied with it and they really need to figure out a different method or different company to use. I use AM radio all the time and its ridiculous that a $160,000 vehicle does not have it.
Same issues with our new Fusion system...NO AM radio, just static...really need AM due to crossing our drawbridge a couple of times a day. All our local traffic and bridge information is on 14:20 AM a 24 hour stream. Gave up on the Navagation and went back to IPhone app...CarPlay would be MUCH better.
skiphoyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 01:05 PM   #195
Wannabe RV'er in training
 
Alex AVI's Avatar

 
2018 Interstate Lounge Ext
High Desert , Las Vegas , Nevada
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 1,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by drpeggau View Post
The AM is no longer working because they removed some sort of coil when changing to this infotainment system.

I use AM radio all the time and its ridiculous that a $160,000 vehicle does not have it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by skiphoyt View Post
NO AM radio, just static...really need AM due to crossing our drawbridge a couple of times a day. All our local traffic and bridge information is on 14:20 AM a 24 hour stream.
DRPEGGAU & SKIPHOYT - Sorry to hear. Not sure why they did what they did, because my Fusion AM works. I feel same as you, AM is still alive & well & used for such things as you mention, not to mention some radio sports & talk shows . Even with all the options of music, lots of times when I travel long trips, talk radio is my preferred listening choice because I feel like I am conversing with someone. It is more engaging & keeps me awake. I do use all the time also.
Alex AVI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 08:09 AM   #196
2 Rivet Member
 
Naperville , Illinois
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 29
Squeaky Wheel

I posted a note to my dealership in hopes that they will pass on the Fusion issued to Airstream and resolve the problem. Having Mercedes-Benz and Airstream together in no way constitutes adding Fusion to such a high-quality mix. I really hope they rectify the problem and replace our systems, otherwise, I will have to have someone figure out how to connect a better GPS and radio system for me. I am not savvy in that area. I am expecting Tesla quality at this price-point. If you have a similar issue with the radio and then please reach out to airstream as well. The squeaky wheel gets the grease and it is in their best interest to rectify this problem.
__________________

drpeggau is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Price paid vs asking price mtbexpert Sprinter and B-van Forum 32 10-06-2018 05:58 AM
Price Paid to Price Asked BillWill Trailer Values 46 08-11-2009 06:03 PM
New layout and idea truckasaurus Cabinets, Counter Tops & Furnishings 15 01-29-2009 10:35 AM
27' B tank layout and weight reduction questions pneum0 2002 Safari 12 09-13-2004 01:33 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.