Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > General Repair Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-21-2021, 08:14 PM   #1

2020 27' Globetrotter
Scottsdale , AZ
2020 Globetrotter weatherstripping

Hello, this is my first time to reach out thru the forum. I purchased my 2020 Globetrotter 27FBT in December of 2020. I stayed in it for the first time just a week ago. I awoke during the night to a draft coming up the inside wall next to the bed. The next day I pulled the mattress out to have a look and found a gap the entire length of the bed. I then went outside and open the lockers on each side of the unit. From the inside I see the sun shining up the interior walls. Has anyone else had this problem? I’m shocked the manufacturer would allow their product to leave the factory without a quality seal installed. Not only is this a large gap for cold air to get in but I’m concerned about critters as well. I’m sure I can figure out a way to install a good seal but I want to know if this workmanship is typical with Airstream and if so what else do I need to be aware of? As a new Owner this is an eye opener. I’m disappointed that I need to get involved with repairs to my new Airstream. It’s also difficult to drive 300 miles to have a dealer install weatherstripping, even if it’s under warranty. So in the 4-months I’ve owned my Airstream, it’s been in the dealers shop for 8-weeks for minor warranty work. Got it out of the shop and went directly to a state park for one night. The next morning I discovered the stove and fridge would not work on propane and found the gap along both beds. My Scottsdale Airstream Service Department experience has been awful and that’s why I would need to drive 300 miles to Tucson Lazy Days. Sorry for the rant but it’s been a rou