Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Full-Timing, Winter Living & Workamping > Working on the Road
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-29-2019, 04:21 PM   #1

2019 30' Flying Cloud
Federal Way , WA
Internet Connectivity from the road ....

We are planning on spending the next at least year traveling in our airstream and working from on the road. We were wanting to get some good internet connectivity in the airstream, but there are pro's and con's with the different options and I wanted to see if anyone else has experience or suggestions from lessons learned. I am still not sure what amount of data I should count on, but I suppose that is probably more a lesson learned with time (some streaming, updating my website with new content - I'm a photographer and software engineer, and social media for marketing).

Option 1: we were planning to install the airstream connect at our local airstream dealership. The $1600 install price seemed high, but the $360 annual unlimited data was a great deal. We were also going to install the WeBoost X RV for our cellular phones (verizon) that would could duplicate for access to online information, and I purchased a SureCall Wide Band Omni-Directional antenna that I was going to have roof mounted and tied into the airstream connect modem (possibly need a booster on that as well, but if a park had wifi it could at least hopefully get that and use the wifi instead of always using cellular data). However, after talking to our local airstream dealership yesterday, we learned that the unlimited AT&T Airstream Connect deal will be dieing on January 15th, and the prices will be higher (22Gb for $90, 50Gb at $175, 100Gb at $300 - all per month).

Pros with Airstream Connect:
Somewhat cheaper install cost including equipment