Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Safari > 2005 - 2010 Safari
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-10-2019, 01:23 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2006 25' Safari SS SE
Elk Grove , California
Pulled the trigger on a 2006 Safari SS

Hi everyone, I used to browse these air forums and the classifieds page only dreaming of ever owning an Airstream. They have the elegance I've always wanted in a trailer, the nostalgic retro look that I love and the craftsmanship that can keep a maintained Airstream going for decades.

About a week a go we had the opportunity to purchase a friend's 2006 Safari SS for what I think/hope is a good deal. Other than what I've casually read on these pages I am no expert (today's troubleshooting proves that) but this was either transitional part of our camping/RVing lives, or a mistake.

The Airstream needs some love and was lived in for some time. There are dents 3 or so, missing rivets, seals that need to be resealed, in need of new batteries, tires, toilet (my wife said this toilet is gross and very hard to clean), tv, rock guard, power lift, stabilizers, WDH, mattress, etc.

I'm hoping this never ending list of toDo's is normal, I even bought a truck because our little v6 would never be able to pull it (the v6 pulled our R-Pod just fine). I'm considering taking it to Bay Area Airstreams since they're only an hour away. Then later a famous/infamous Vinny who now lives in a neighboring town from me after his relocation (he wouldn't take any work until this summer - very booked).