Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-11-2021, 08:03 PM   #41
3 Rivet Member

2011 28' Flying Cloud
Kingston , Nova Scotia
F150

I must have missed some thing here. I have been rving for well over 30 plus years and had 5 trailers and several different tow vehicles and had a F350 diesel and went back to gas and never regretted it. I have been towing my 2011 flying cloud now for 10 years and have never had an issue,it has been set up correctly and tows like a dream.
Stops in emergency breaking situations on more then a few occasions. I just don't under stand the F250-F350 stuff.
On that note my F150 has heavy duty pay load package. Cost a way less then my diesel ever did and the mileage is not much different from my F350.
Also I use my truck more not towing then towing so plus on that side of things but I guess if I tow my trailer 500 mile every day it would make a difference.
Rust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2021, 09:31 PM   #42
2 Rivet Member

2014 25' FB International
Sacramento , California
I was considering buying a new f350 vs. f250 due to availability. My research indicated the f350 also comes with lower gearing standard and gets about 1.0 -1.5 mpg less than f250. You also might be faced with having to pay more for insurance costs. If you keep your TV for 15+ years like I did, it adds up.
dmartinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2021, 10:47 PM   #43
CRH
Rivet Master

1995 25' Excella
xxxxx , xxxxxx
I tow a 25 ft with a gas F350. I have over 4k of payload. The trailer weighs less than half what the truck is rated to tow. I have plenty of truck for the job. I enjoy towing with my F350.
CRH is offline   Reply With Quote