Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Running Gear - Axles, Brakes, Wheels & Tires > Tires
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-06-2022, 02:51 PM   #21
:SPACE A" S/O 11 Air19745

2006 34' Classic S/O
Fort Worth , Texas
I have been using Michelins for 8 years with no problems after multiple tread separations on Marathon, Carlisle, and Maxxis tires. The longer trailers need the best tire due to turning side force stresses. Michelins have a much thicker tread than the ST tires mentioned above.
guskmg
guskmg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2022, 08:59 PM   #22
Rivet Master

2014 20' Flying Cloud
Washington , Missouri
Can’t argue the GYE path. I have give or take 40-45k on the GYE’s after 12k on the gym’s. Love them to death and hold air like a bandit. PSI being another discussion based on YOUR actual weight per tire plus a 15% margin.

To be fair had my sights set on the Nokians ( now made inTN). GYE and their availability was the tipping point….likely different now. Again love the GYE’s and will like repeat when the current set date out next year but a lot of +’s with the Nokes. FYI,passed on the Maxi’s. Too many comments on great warranty. I prefer a great tire. Personal opinion.

I too am a DT customer, express your requirements and take no prisoners. Since DT also rotated TV tires I would often have them rebalance the TT tires in one appointment. They would pull the TV/TT in the bay, use the lift to do the TV , drop it and use the floor Jack at the rear jackpoints, one by one to remove/rebalance the TT tires.