Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > LP Gas, Piping, Tanks & Regulators
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-20-2018, 08:17 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1971 29' Ambassador
Gulf Shores , Alabama
Question LPG Dual Tank Manual Changeover

I'm new to AirStreaming. New to RV trailering, period. Getting my new-to-me 1971 pretty decent mostly unrestored 29 foot Ambassador ready for the road. I'm discarding my probably original dual LPG tank automatic switchover valve and after reading about dual tank automatic switchover valve failures they seem like way more trouble than they're worth so I've decided I want a manual switchover setup. Just run one tank empty and then I'll manually switch to the full tank. That seems simple but I can't find a dual tank manual switchover regulator and valve. What am I missing? If this is a stupid question then feel free to say so, but then, tell me the answer, because stupid or not, I can't seem to figure it out.

TIA

Sam
SamWind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2018, 08:39 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
All that is necessary to force these auto switch over units to become manual is not to open the second tank valve.
Once you have determined the first tank is empty you manually switch the regulator to tank 2 and open the valve.
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2018, 08:53 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member

1971 29' Ambassador
Gulf Shores , Alabama
I do see that that is so, but it seems to me I ought to be able to avoid paying for an automatic switching function I do not intend to use, plus, its something extra with the potential to fail, when a less complicated valve would be less prone to fail, because there would be fewer components capable of failing.