Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > Sprinter and B-van Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-29-2019, 02:36 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2018 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Brookfield , Wisconsin
Batteries, Inverters, Generators & Charging,

First time post. I am a Mechanical Engineer and have no problem with understanding technology and logic ... when "well done" and well thought out.

I searched for some similar threads ... but came up empty with my specific issue and observations.

About 14 months ago ...I purchased a new 2018 Interstate GT 4x4, and had the dealer upgrade the battery/inverter package to: four 6 volt AGMS batteries (GPL-4CT), and a Magnum MS2812 Inverter/charger.

I was told that I was going from 210 ah (105 usable) on batteries and from 1000 watts to 2800 watts for inverted 110vac power. They also reconfigured the 110vac outlets so that all but the AC unit was working from battery bank.

From reading past threads - it is pretty obvious that Airstream has much room for optimizing the: battery/inverter/solar/generator/shore power configuration, and besides the above upgrades - I am eager to incorporate some more improvements as oft discussed here. I would really appreciate a shopping list of sorts on that front... but first I need some insights...