Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Base Camp
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-08-2006, 11:36 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2007 Base Camp
Minneapolis , Minnesota
New Member, New Basecamp

Hi, I'm Betty from Minneapolis and I'm just giddy over my Basecamp!
I'm new to all this and I have a lot to learn. For starters, I need a tow vehicle. I'm looking at Toyota Highlander (3-5 years old.) The Basecamp is about 2500 pounds. According to the published tow capacity of the Highlander, it should be OK, but I have heard that tow capacity goes down at higher elevations and I plan to take this across Colorado mountain passes. What would others suggest?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BettywithBasecamp.JPG
Views:	687
Size:	51.6 KB
ID:	26759  
ABC004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2006, 11:51 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member

1974 31' Sovereign
madera , California
Its so tiny

OOh, Its so cute, sorry I don't know anything yet on your TV needs, but I couldn't help but respond, so shiny and new and tiny. Have lots of fun, couldn't imagine you need anything to big to tow with.-Probie
rolwil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2006, 11:57 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1977 27' Overlander
1954 25' Cruiser
1990 34.5' Airstream 345
VC Highlands , Nevada
Send a message via Skype™ to Buttercup
Wow. I think the Basecamp is so cute. I hope you have fun travels with it.

As for towing I can't offer too much except to say that I towed a 1700 pound trailer with a Toyota 4-Runner (3500 pound tow capacity) and I have noticed that it would be a little sluggish going up hills but I never noticed a decrease when going up in altitude (up to 7200 feet).

I bet you will be fine with the tow vehicle you are choosing.