Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-14-2016, 08:08 AM   #1
Rivet Master

2006 23' Safari SE
I'm In , Kentucky
Question VFW and American Legion

Being a veteran I've been approached a few times about joining both the VFW and the American Legion. I'm not sure about the differences, both seem pretty similar. Like any organization, the difference can be in the activities at the local Post.

Searching in my local area I find there are both here in Lexington, KY. VFW has one location, American Legion has 3. None of the local websites for these organizations tells me much about what they offer. The American Legion national website seems to be directed towards younger veterans while VFW seems to target older ones. Is this just my perception? Locally, it seems activities are limited to Friday bingo, drinking and smoking.

If you're a member or former member, I'd like to know your experiences. I'd also like to know about the smoking policies. I know they are set by each local post but are all of them smoking? The most popular one here seems to have a lot of smokers. I don't suppose there's a registry of non-smoking posts, is there?
2004 4Runner SE 4.7L V8
Rich W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2016, 08:54 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 23' Safari SE
Biloxi , Mississippi
I know little about either organization. I am on the mailing list for both and receive appeals to join and send money with regularity. One benefit I have heard is both offer free RV parking at many of their locations. As to the smoking issue I would think the only way to find out is to give them a visit and see for yourself. Ashtrays and stink are dead giveaways.