Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Base Camp
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-08-2021, 01:51 PM   #1

2021 20' Basecamp
Bastrop , Texas
Towing a Basecamp 20X

I am new to towing in general and this Basecamp is my first travel trailer. I am trying to get up to speed on how to do this safely. When purchasing the unit I had a WD anti sway hitch included in the sale, installation and adjustments included. $1200. When I picked it up I was told that they couldn’t install the hitch I had purchased, and that Airstream and the hitch maker both said not to install it. I received this email.

“Mr. Rimmer, I had an opportunity to speak with our Service manager along with the folks at Airstream. And both are in agreement. The Basecamp 20X does not require a sway bar to be towed. If a customer wants to purchase a lightweight swaybar that is the customers choice to do so and is welcome to install it. Unfortunately the dealership will not install a swaybar on the Basecamp.
Sorry I couldn’t be of more help. Kind of surprised Airstream position on sway bars and Basecamp 20X. Thanks”

It is an Airstream dealership. Any opinions?
ToadHall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2021, 06:57 PM   #2
1 Rivet Member

2021 16' Basecamp
Cary , North Carolina
Strange. I'm waiting for my Basecamp 16 and reading the on line users manual it seemed to assume that you would do a WD hitch? My research seems to show that the 3500# RV with a 425# tongue weight might not need a WD hitch but, I intended to do one to be on the safe side. I don't know why a WD hitch with sway control would be a negative....maybe not necessary, but not a negative.
AbstractLogc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2021, 07:28 PM   #3
3 Rivet Member

2020 16' Basecamp