Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents > Trailer Values
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-21-2005, 09:09 PM   #1

Currently Looking...
granbury , Texas
what should I pay - 73 excella 500

Hi,
I'm very new to this, and excited now that I've made the decision to purchase a vintage airstream. I'm looking at the 73 excella 500 with wrap around couch and rear full bed. The fridge, ac/heat strip, are new, the rest looks very clean in the pictures and owner states no floor problems, rust, or dents. Asking price is 13,900...down from 14,500! sounds high to me based on my research so far. Would love some feedback and advice. Located not to far from me so I can go eyeball it.
Thanks and hello to all.
becca
gypsygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 10:19 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1986 25' Sovereign
Southern Middle , Tennessee
Becca,
Sounds high to me also but trailer prices have gone up lately due to disasters in FL. and LA. I just sold my '77 Excella 500 for under $7,000. It had a couple small dents on a rear panel and the carpeting was dated. All appliances were working, 2 strong Delco Voyager batteries, tires were 4 yrs. old (except for one which was one yr. old), alum. rims and 40 lb. tanks. There was the beginning of rear end droop but it has not changed over the last 4 yrs as I watched it closely. Mine only had a curbside couch and one curbside twin bed so I believe it could have been priced a little higher if it had twins and a little higher if it had the rear bedroom. It was polished which was worth all the ohhhs and ahhhs. It was also priced to sell since I had 2 Airstreams in my back yard and one angry wife.

AIR #0078
'01 2500hd ext. cab, 8.1 litre gas, 5 sp. Allison auto
3.73 rear end
Mag-Hytec rear diff cover