Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-06-2015, 07:59 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1967 30' Sovereign
Nauvoo , Alabama
Question house pipes in a RV

Got a great deal on 67 Sovereing, or so I thought. It has pvc, pcv, (house type water system installed) I am certain this will not hold up to a now moving around again AS. The problem for me is the location of most of the joints for the bathroom. I can see them from the rear but I am a disabled vet and this is in a area I am sure I can not work in for a prolonged time. Can I remove the tub and rear bath shower unit to get to this area or do I give in and take it to a pro on this one? The unit could be a poster child for clear silicone and had many other self help failures I was slowy able to fix. But this pluming job just may be too much. Cost wise I need to be able to do it, but many of you have done this I quess. Should I give it a try or give in? Just one of many problems; I am retired military and have plenty of time (AS work is great theraphy). Thanks again to all of you knowledgeable ASers
Old 11-06-2015, 08:09 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
house pipes in a RV

There is nothing wrong with using PVC as long as it is done right. RV manufacturers use ABS because it is cheaper.
Where I live ABS is not available. Which may be the case in many areas.
ABS and PVC cannot be glued to each other. There are couplings (Fernco) which can be used in this case.

Sent from my iPod touch using Airstream Forums
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2015, 08:54 AM   #3
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
Mission , Texas
I like PEX ... and have never had an appreciation for PVC or CPVC.