Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > General Repair Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-21-2020, 09:02 PM   #1

2004 16' International CCD
San Mateo , California
Water in rear belly pan 2004 16 ft International ccd

Hi, I am new to the Airstream Forums would like to take this opportunity to say Hi! My Wife and I are also new to owning any type of RV and have recently
(August 2019} purchased a 2004 16' international Bambi. We are just getting accustomed to it and until yesterday hadn't had any problems other than little things until I discovered water up in the rear belly pan. The insulation is totally dripping with water as I am able to get my fingers up on the side of the pan as a rivet or two are missing. We have had quite a bit of rain here in California but have not seen any sign of a leak anywhere inside so I assumed everything was fine. I have drilled several holes into the pan as to allow some of the water to drain out, which some has. I guess I'm dealing with two issues at the moment: the first and I guess the most important is to find where the water is coming from and second I guess, remove the pan, remove the insulation and dry everything out. Is there anyone that has had a similar problem and can advise me on what steps I should take? I have no idea what is under the pan and what to expect after removing it. I would appreciate any suggestions as we are totally Green and have no idea what direction to go in or what we might find under the pan. I want to thank anyone in advance for any help you might be able to provide.
Should any further detail be needed please let me know.
With Kind Regards,
Chuck
karate2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 09:20 PM   #2
Site Team

2017 30' International
Broomfield , Colorado