Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2009, 12:10 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member
 
Chasmorgan's Avatar
 
1999 23' Safari
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 225
Images: 7
OK to Run AC on house 110 volt?

Is it okay to run my trailer Dometic on house current? Trailer came with an adapter and I use a 10gauge extension cord. Don't want to harm AC unit! Thanks for the help!
__________________

__________________
Chasmorgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 12:11 PM   #2
More than one rivet loose
 
thecatsandi's Avatar

 
Currently Looking...
Keymar , Maryland
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chasmorgan View Post
Is it okay to run my trailer Dometic on house current? Trailer came with an adapter and I use a 10gauge extension cord. Don't want to harm AC unit! Thanks for the help!
Depends,
How long is the cord and what is the voltage at the trailer with the AC running?
__________________

__________________
Michelle TAC MT-0
Sarah, Snowball

Looking for a 1962 Flying Cloud

thecatsandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 02:34 PM   #3
Rivet Monster
 
wahoonc's Avatar

 
1975 31' Sovereign
1980 31' Excella II
Sprung Leak , North Carolina
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,174
Images: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chasmorgan View Post
Is it okay to run my trailer Dometic on house current? Trailer came with an adapter and I use a 10gauge extension cord. Don't want to harm AC unit! Thanks for the help!
Sounds okay, especially with the 10ga drop cord, but what amperage is the circuit you are plugging into and how long a run from the breaker panel? I managed to burn up a medium sized window unit that way one time.

Aaron
__________________
....so many Airstreams....so little time...
WBCCI #XXXX AIR #2495
Why are we in this basket...and where are we going
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 06:57 PM   #4
Moderator
 
Kevin245's Avatar

 
Vintage Kin Owner
... , ...
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9,390
Images: 9
Not sure what circuit size you would draw on, but I would not use an extension cord with anything less than a 30 amp service. Even then I avoid extension cords if at all possible. You may "get-by" using a 20 amp circuit if you don't use any other cord other than the service cord that came with your AS, and don't run any other appliances. Keep the cord length to the absolute minimum though.

Remember voltage drop is the enemy of all things electrical.

Best of Luck,

Kevin
__________________

"You wouldn't worry so much about what others think of you if you realized how seldom they do."

Eleanor Roosevelt

Kevin245 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 07:11 PM   #5
Aluminut
 
Silvertwinkie's Avatar
 
2004 25' Safari
. , Illinois
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 10,334
Will it work. Yes. Can you risk burning out the compressor? Yes. There is a reason the RV power cord that comes with the RV is a 30a connector and the cord is the size it is. The cheater plug that converts the 30a to standard house plug is only rated at about 15 amps. There have been owners who have reported the cheater actually melting. You might get away with it, you might not. A new A/C unit is over $400, plus installation if you can't do it yourself. A dedicated 30a is not really all that expensive and in most cases less expensive than replacing the compressor.
__________________
Computers manufactured by companies such as IBM, Compaq and millions of others are by far the most popular with about 70 million machines in use worldwide. Macintosh fans note that cockroaches are far more numerous than humans and that numbers alone do not denote a higher life form. -NY Times 11/91
Silvertwinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 09:35 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
utee94's Avatar
 
1963 26' Overlander
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,636
My 15K BTU A/C unit draws 14.1A at the rated maximum capacity, that includes both compressor and fan.

If your voltage at the trailer is still right around 110VAC with the A/C running, you should be fine.

-Marcus
utee94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 09:55 PM   #7
4 Rivet Member
 
nick6930's Avatar
 
1979 Argosy 27
1969 21' Globetrotter
1953 25' Cruiser
Front Royal , Virginia
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 402
Blog Entries: 9
I just did a bunch of research about this topic, there are several other threads about it. The plan and simple answer:

you need a 30 amp service, a 20 amp does not cut it. You need 23-24 amps to run an AC unit a 20 amp breaker only gives about 16 amps.

You can not go below 105 volts. Using a volt meter you will notice that with the AC running on a 20 Amp service you go below this. Mine went down to 100 volts. This can burn up you AC.

If you have your doubts go out and buy a volt meter that plugs into the outlet and see for yourself. Maybe your unit is small enough but dont run it long when you below 105 volts.
nick6930 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 01:11 AM   #8
Rivet Master
 
ROBERTSUNRUS's Avatar

 
2005 25' Safari
Salem , Oregon
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7,269
Images: 18
Blog Entries: 51
Double standard?

Hi, I run my trailer's A/C while plugged into my house with no problems. I use the 15 Amp dog bone that came with my trailer. [no extension cords] Make sure your voltage stays at or above 105 volts. My house outlet is 120 volts and 20 AMPs. Our power in the city is pretty consistant.

My Yamaha 2400 generator is 2400 watts max / 2000 watts rated. And 20 AMPs max / 16.7 AMPs rated. If portable generators can power the A/C without damage, I don't see why you house would. If power to your house is weak or if you are trying to run father than 25 feet using extension cords, then that changes the whole story about using your house's power. Also, if your house's recepticle is not a tight fit for the plug, don't use it.
__________________
Bob

2005 Safari 25-B
"Le Petit Chateau Argent"
[ Small Silver Castle ]
2000 Navigator / 2014 F-150 Eco-Boost / Equal-i-zer / P-3
YAMAHA 2400 / AIR #12144
ROBERTSUNRUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 06:47 AM   #9
4 Rivet Member
 
2008 16' Safari
Destrehan , Louisiana
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 395
I've done this for years with no problems. Just be sure and use a heavy duty extension cord and keep the load down below the 15 or 20 amp rating of your receptical.
__________________
dlb435 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 09:03 AM   #10
3 Rivet Member
 
Chasmorgan's Avatar
 
1999 23' Safari
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 225
Images: 7
Thanks

Thanks to all for the advice. Appears risky so I'm having a 30amp box installed later this week. Thanks again!
__________________

__________________
Chasmorgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
12 volt


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6 volt vs 12 volt brakes? lwebb Brakes & Brake Controllers 17 07-14-2005 09:32 AM
Wiring Sequence to hook up 2 x 6 volt battery pack to your 12 volt trailer battery TobyJH Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 0 05-21-2004 01:04 AM
1961 - 12 volt or 6 volt? Marlboro Mafia Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 4 04-19-2004 10:03 AM
external 110 volt outlet door-curbside Kirby Stone General Repair Forum 0 01-21-2004 02:41 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.