Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2016, 08:57 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
kstewart23's Avatar
 
2011 27 FB International
San Antonio , Texas
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 69
Question about electrical Splitter

Sorry if this is in the wrong place or if I could not find something similar through my search.

I was wondering if there is a splitter that would allow me to plug the 30 amp male into a 30 amp female splitter and the other end of the splitter a 120 male, to plug into my home outlet. Does that exist and would it allow an ac to run in the AS.

Thanks
KS
__________________

__________________
kstewart23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 09:00 PM   #2
Airstreamer In Training
 
FCStreamer's Avatar
 
2014 30' Flying Cloud
Tampa , Florida
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1,261
Blog Entries: 1
I think this is what your looking for.

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss...am%2Caps%2C176

It's a 30 to 15A adapter, and I'm not sure if a 120V 15amp source is enough to run the AC. Someone else needs to chime in.
Attached Images
 
__________________

__________________
2014 Airstream Flying Cloud 30 Recliner - WBCCI #4850 - AIR #110821
2013 Cadillac Escalade Tow Vehicle, Equal-i-zer Hitch
Visit Our Flying Cloud blog for my latest adventure!
FCStreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 11:54 PM   #3
4 Rivet Member
 
sgschwend's Avatar
 
1986 25' Sovereign
2008 F350, 6.4L diesel , Oak Harbor, WA
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 436
Images: 11
Note the adapter will function well up to 15 amp. Any current above that will slowly damage the adapter; normally be overheating the connections and melting the housing.

You could put in a voltage monitor to show the supply voltage in the trailer. Something that just plugs into an outlet that you could directly read the voltage at that outlet. If the voltage becomes low with the AC on you would know things are not working correctly.
__________________
sgschwend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2016, 01:25 AM   #4
CRH
Rivet Master
 
1995 25' Excella
xxxxx , xxxxxx
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 1,245
Are you just trying to plug the 30a cord into an outlet? You can buy an adapter at any number of places, including Walmart. My AC starts easily on a 15a outlet in my garage. I have nothing else on the circuit at the same time, though.
__________________
CRH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2016, 06:29 AM   #5
Rivet Master
 
mimiandrews's Avatar

 
1966 22' Safari
Weatherford , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,425
FCStreamer is right for one kind of adapter. They also make one that plugs into both sockets on a household (15 amp) receptacle so that you get more contact points, if not theoretically more power. Sorry I don't have a picture.
__________________
mimiandrews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2016, 12:26 PM   #6
2 Rivet Member
 
2014 25' FB Flying Cloud
Fitchburg , Wisconsin
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 82
This is a good solution for me:

Furrion FP3015-SS Titanium 30 Amp Female to 15 Amp Male Pigtail

It is supposed to be "universal"; will connect to non-Furrion plugs.

It is available on Amazon for $52.26.

I have run my heat pump on the 15 amp garage circuit. I seemed to be fine with no voltage drop but I only tried it once.
__________________
BillfromWI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2016, 12:34 PM   #7
Iron tepee #35
 
1993 34' Excella
andalusia , Illinois
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 23
Master electrician.

1)Make sure you have an extension cord made with #12 gauge wire.
2)keep the length of cord short to limit voltage drop.
3)don't run anything more than A/C and lights.
Should have no problems...stay cool
__________________
mikeoxlong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2016, 02:10 PM   #8
3 Rivet Member
 
The Ice Man's Avatar
 
2011 27 FB International
Tucson , Arizona
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 184
Geeze $52 bucks? You gotta be nuts. Try this:
http://www.amazon.com/Camco-55223-15...to+15A+adapter

$6.95 on Amazon and some Wal-Marts have them. It runs my A/C fine, but at my house it is on a 20 amp circuit, not a 15.
__________________
The Ice Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 08:53 AM   #9
Rivet Master
 
m.hony's Avatar
 
2013 30' Classic
Greenwood , Mississippi
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11,828
You cannot run the a/c with this adapter plugged into a 15 or 20 amp receptacle.
It will destroy the receptacle or trip the breaker.
Ask me how I know...
__________________
2013 Classic 30 Limited
2007 Silver Toyota Tundra Crew Max Limited 5.7 iForce
2006 Vivid Black Harley-Davidson Road King Classic
1999 Black Nissan Pathfinder LE
TAC #MS-10
WBCCI #1811, Region 6, Unit 56
Airforums #70955
m.hony is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 08:59 AM   #10
Rivet Master
 
paiceman's Avatar

 
2017 30' Classic
Upper St Clair , Pennsylvania
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,433
Images: 1
I bought one that plugs in and can be screwed secure on the side of our AS for our 50AMP connection which converts to 30AMP and then another that converts to 15AMP. Bought them both on Ebay - $30.00 for both sold by individual. I've tested them and they work fine. They are available on Amazon for as listed previously $50.00 something a piece.
__________________
SAFE TRAVELS
2017 30' Classic - F350 6.7 Diesel Crew
USAF - Military Training Instructor (TI) - 68-72
paiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 10:35 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
Boxite's Avatar

 
2008 22' Sport
Spicewood (W of Austin) , Texas
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,229
The CAmco adapter in the Amazon link is similar to what is found at WalMart and PPL.
They are referred to as "15A to 30A" adapters, because the shape/design of those "prongs" are what are normally utilized on circuits of those amperage ratings.
However, as one poster above has already mentioned, the so-called "15A" receptacle may actually be a 20A circuit, properly served by appropriately-sized/gauged wire, and with the receptacle being more heavy-duty than some cheapo-units. (Also, keep in mind that some 120 volt receptacles are rated at 20-25 Amps and have a "hot" side shaped with a horizontal-slot in addition to the vertical-slot. The Camco adapter will readily fit that type receptacle.)
Here's what it looks like: http://www.googleadservices.com/page...-i/i/G1459473/
The point I'm attempting to make is that 14 ga or 12 ga wire serving a 120 volt outlet is adequate for 15 amps but more than that would best be served by a 10 ga wire, and if you use such a higher-quality outlet, the Camco type adapter will likely work just fine for running the AC alone from your 30A supply cord.
The fears that some express are likely not an issue because if indeed the outlet is only rated at 15 Amps (or other) then the circuit breaker serving that outlet will trip prior to "melting" or any such thing. (Just don't attempt to keep resetting the breaker if it trips. Use a different outlet after you reset the breaker once.)
__________________
2012 Ram 1500 Crew Cab 4.7L 4X4
Rambox
WBCCI 14676 TX ALAMO UNIT
Boxite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 07:03 AM   #12
Iron tepee #35
 
1993 34' Excella
andalusia , Illinois
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 23
Master Electrician.

I hate to be one of those guys that split hairs but:
120 volt receptacles are rated 15 or 20 amps. If it will accept a plug with one vertical prong and one horizontal prong; it is rated for 20 amps. Otherwise figure on 15 amps. I have seen, literally thousands of times, 15 amp receptacles connected to 20 amp breakers, making the receptacle the weak link.
The National Electric Code requires (minimum) 14 gauge conductor for 15 amps, 12 gauge for 20 amps, 10 gauge for 30 amps. However, length of circuit, or voltage drop, is the most common culprit when having problems. So, bigger is better when it comes to wire size. In any case, when your unit has been up and running for a while, hold your power/extension cord and see if it is overly warm. If you 'think' it might be warm...you are probably Okay. If it is definitely warm or hot, you need to take action. Heat is the 'tell' that you have a problem.
__________________

__________________
mikeoxlong is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDMI Splitter Cable GerryH Audio, Video & TV 1 12-14-2011 12:26 PM
1983 Antenna System Splitter? jerry d Audio, Video & TV 0 07-09-2011 11:03 AM
TV Cable/Splitter Ugly1 All Squarestream Trailers 2 10-12-2009 01:23 PM
digital tv: splitter or amplifier? Chuck Audio, Video & TV 2 07-08-2007 05:46 PM
Cable Splitter jhobbs Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 6 10-14-2005 12:02 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.