Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Repairing/Replacing Floor &/or Frame
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-28-2011, 03:42 PM   #1

1970 31' Sovereign
clermont , Florida
complete newbie, already needing a shell off?

brought my 31' sovereign home 2 days ago. already halfway through gutting it. at the back bumper, there's a hinge door, layed down horizontally. i believe it's where you keep your rolled up power cord. in any event, on the driver side (or port side, not sure of the nomenclature), the piece of frame that comes all the way back to support is GONE. completely eaten through by rust, and being held only by the other side of the frame. i was under the assumption (i know, my first mistake) that the back bumper piece was bolted on to the frame. i crawled a good two or three feet further under and found the frame still "intact" but in terrible condition. should i attack this from the inside, through the floor? or from underneath? or is completely picking this shell from the frame and building a new one the best course of action?
joesheehan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 03:59 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member

1970 18' Caravel
Currently Looking...
Mulino , Oregon
My advice is to do it right by pulling the shell ; there likely is significant other corrosion that you have not seen yet. This is a year and model that likely experienced rear end sag; this high stress accelerated corrosion damage. There are lots of articles and advice on the forum to address this issue properly when rebuilding. It is probable you have significant floor rot as well; again best to pull the shell to fix. A 1970 did not have black water tank originally which must be added; much easier to add when the shell is off the frame.
WLJ1943