Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-10-2011, 02:23 AM   #1

Currently Looking...
Woodbury , New Jersey
A total newbie - Airstream Purchase

I recently decided to purchase an Airstream travel trailer and I am just beginning to do some research and I figured this site would be a good place to start out. As this will be my first travel trailer and my $$ are limited...I have decided to purchase a used one. I started out just checking out E-Bay to get an idea of their listings as well as some price ranges. My first question: what is an Airstream vs an Airstream Excella? It seems to me that every Airstream Excella I come across...regardless of what site I am on....is significantly less money than non-Excella models of similar size, age and/or condition. So...my first questions is: why are Airstream Excellas significantly less money than "regular" or "standard" Airstream travel trailers?

Thanks, in advance, for your help.
airstreamer9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 05:05 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 31' Excella 500
Charleston , South Carolina
I don't know, but I'll take a stab at this and say it is because they are so big.
The market would reflect what is in demand and people want smaller camper trailers.
Also older trailers mean more work and bigger means more work.

I have a 31' Excella and it is a beast!
Old 02-10-2011, 06:40 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1973 25' Tradewind
Bloomsbury , New Jersey