Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2019, 06:19 AM   #1
4 Rivet Member
 
2019 30' Classic
Pleasant Garden , North Carolina
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 280
50 amp only for Alde?

I should have asked turk123 when I was getting my Alde lesson from him last week but I didn't. Does the Classic have to be connected to 50 amp service for the Alde system to function correctly or will 30 amp suffice? I have 50 amp service at my home and thanks to instruction from turk123 my Alde works great. But we are going to a 30 amp only park and I wasn't sure if I am going to get the same results there.
jlandreth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 07:50 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
BigSxyWhtGuy's Avatar
 
2018 30' Classic
Thousand Oaks , California
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlandreth View Post
I should have asked turk123 when I was getting my Alde lesson from him last week but I didn't. Does the Classic have to be connected to 50 amp service for the Alde system to function correctly or will 30 amp suffice? I have 50 amp service at my home and thanks to instruction from turk123 my Alde works great. But we are going to a 30 amp only park and I wasn't sure if I am going to get the same results there.


Technically, All it needs it propane. On my firefly, there is an electrical settings button.
Off - no electrical
1 - 30/50 amp
2 - 50 amp only super electrical drawl mode.

I was set up with 2 on electrical and propane and ran Alde 100%. That thing was not shy about electrical usage. We now run it with electrical off and only on propane as propane seems to heat more effectively and electrical is more expensive than propane in our current situation.
__________________
BigSxyWhtGuy

Follow our adventures!
@airstreamvagabond on Instagram and YouTube
BigSxyWhtGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 08:35 AM   #3
4 Rivet Member
 
2019 30' Classic
Pleasant Garden , North Carolina
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 280
Thanks, I may be in for a shock when I get my next power bill. It has been hooked up at my home with the Alde running for 2 1/2 weeks now.
jlandreth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 08:48 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
turk123's Avatar

 
2019 30' Classic
Canfield , Ohio
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2,371
hello again!

The 2019 alde system allows you to adjust how many amps you use. If you remember when we talked you can set the maximum number of amps it will use under "load Monitor". That is hit "A" at the main menu and then on that screen, touch the picture of the plug with the "A" under it. There you can set from 18 -55 amps of power. Match that to your campground power.

Also, remember on the first screen to touch the flame (propane) so it is green and the Alde will also compensate with propane. You should be set to "electric prioritize" to maximize the use of electricity for heating. Save the propane prioritize setting for when you boondock. It will use up your propane at the highest rate. With 80 lbs, you can still go for a long long time.

For those of you with new Classics, it seems as if Airstream and it's dealers are not adding the load monitor to the panel. You can do this yourself by just going to settings and the added accessories. If it is not checked, check it. Load monitor, booster and Alde flow should be checked. My Classic had none checked. I talked to Alde and they said this is the correct three and that Airstream should have turned them on.
__________________
x\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\101970\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\/x\x/x\x/x
2017 Airstream International Signature 27FB Twin
2019 Airstream Classic 30 Twin


Link to our shared album: https://photos.app.goo.gl/wACfGg1KcroVLP5m6
turk123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 08:58 AM   #5
4 Rivet Member
 
2019 30' Classic
Pleasant Garden , North Carolina
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 280
Yeah, good morning. How is California? I remember those things, I just wasn't sure if you needed 50 amps to get the Alde to work at it's potential. I know when you had me adjust the amps on the Alde controller you said I wasn't getting the full potential out of the new 3020 system where It was previously set. Wasn't sure if it had to absolutely be on 50 amps or if 30 amps would work.
jlandreth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 10:19 AM   #6
3 Rivet Member
 
2019 30' Classic
2012 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Crested Butte , Colorado
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 193
Yea, no add-ins selected on my 2019. As I have said before, my dealer does not appear to understand much about how the new electronics or the Alde system work. It is great that you have this figured out, Turk123.
__________________
2019 30' Classic RB pulled by 2018 Dodge RAM 3500 short bed
Froglips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 01:06 PM   #7
4 Rivet Member
 
2019 30' Classic
Pleasant Garden , North Carolina
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 280
My dealer didn't have a clue about the Alde system and of course there's no instructions that come with it. If not for turk123 I would still be trying to figure the system out.
jlandreth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 01:35 PM   #8
Half a Rivet Short
 
2017 30' Classic
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10,016
Hi

The traditional Alde maxes out at about 20A regardless of what any of the magic settings try to tell you. It would be fine forever on a 30A feed. Indeed, they all get more power when running on gas than on electric so you will need propane if it gets really cold.

Bob
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 10:59 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
turk123's Avatar

 
2019 30' Classic
Canfield , Ohio
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2,371
wrong bob. His alde system was set to 18 amp. When we went to 50 his issues went away. Alde told me it will use 50 amp
__________________
x\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\101970\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\/x\x/x\x/x
2017 Airstream International Signature 27FB Twin
2019 Airstream Classic 30 Twin


Link to our shared album: https://photos.app.goo.gl/wACfGg1KcroVLP5m6
turk123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 06:38 AM   #10
Half a Rivet Short
 
2017 30' Classic
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by turk123 View Post
wrong bob. His alde system was set to 18 amp. When we went to 50 his issues went away. Alde told me it will use 50 amp
Hi

If you take a look at page 8-18 in your 2019 owner's manual, Circuit A is what feeds your Alde. It's a 20A breaker. The guys who wrote the manual believed that the Alde pulls 16A. If it *does* pull 50A, that 20A breaker will pop very quickly.

Bob
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 07:22 AM   #11
3 Rivet Member
 
2019 30' Classic
2012 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Crested Butte , Colorado
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 193
Is there some specific downside to setting the system to 50 amps when plugged into a 50 amp circuit?
__________________
2019 30' Classic RB pulled by 2018 Dodge RAM 3500 short bed
Froglips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 09:01 AM   #12
Rivet Master
 
turk123's Avatar

 
2019 30' Classic
Canfield , Ohio
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by uncle_bob View Post
Hi

If you take a look at page 8-18 in your 2019 owner's manual, Circuit A is what feeds your Alde. It's a 20A breaker. The guys who wrote the manual believed that the Alde pulls 16A. If it *does* pull 50A, that 20A breaker will pop very quickly.

Bob
That's very interesting Bob. It looks like the Alde system can use a maximum of 20 amps (16 a) through that circuit. That said, what the Aldi rep told me may still apply.

It may be that Alde the load monitor setting provides for more or less power according to what you have the monitor set on. That is, if you have it set to 30 amp, it may only allow the electric heating to run at 8 amps freeing the rest of the power to the trailer. At 50 amp setting, it can use the entire 16 amps. That may be what the Alde rep meant by telling me to set the monitor according to the power I have at the pole. He did say there were two "elements" to the electric heating. He said you can hear the relays click as you turn up the electric setting from one to two KW.

It makes sense that it would not use ALL the power. It is clear the load monitor needs to be set if you want to get the most energy from electric than from propane.

So you are right, and that makes very much sense to the way it works. I just wish the dealers would have a better understanding of this. The Alde system has been out for quite a while.

Here is a thought, why don't you and I write an Alde manual? The "much to do about Alde" thread is way too much for anyone to read and the materials provided by Airstream is the opposite, practically nothing. The Alde company has from what I understand, three employees handling the USA and not one of them know the Airstream system very well. They referred me to JC. JC responded to me about my questions about a manual and then was surprised I didn't get one from the dealer. They promptly sent me a PDF of an outdated 3010 manual from 2017.

The Unofficial Alde manual, with lots of disclaimers.

Just a thought . . .
__________________
x\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\101970\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\/x\x/x\x/x
2017 Airstream International Signature 27FB Twin
2019 Airstream Classic 30 Twin


Link to our shared album: https://photos.app.goo.gl/wACfGg1KcroVLP5m6
turk123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 09:46 AM   #13
2 Rivet Member
 
Sparr's Avatar
 
2017 30' Classic
Casa Grande , Arizona
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 50
Since the Adle Load monitor is an optional accessory (3010 and 3020) I doubt it was added by Airstream. Unless the load monitor power probe is installed any change to the Load Monitor on the Alde panel is just for show.

Instructions for installing the load monitor.

https://www.practicalcaravan.com/adv...erature-sensor
__________________
Steven & Lisa
"Olivia" 2017 Airstream Classic 30
2016 Dodge Ram Laramie 4x4 CC w/6.7L Cummins
ProPride 3P
WBAC (WBCCI) Region 11 1st VP - Life Members # 5523, AIR # 118556, KJ6DKF
Sparr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 11:07 AM   #14
Rivet Master
 
turk123's Avatar

 
2019 30' Classic
Canfield , Ohio
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparr View Post
Since the Adle Load monitor is an optional accessory (3010 and 3020) I doubt it was added by Airstream. Unless the load monitor power probe is installed any change to the Load Monitor on the Alde panel is just for show.

Instructions for installing the load monitor.

https://www.practicalcaravan.com/adv...erature-sensor
Another reason we need a good manual. If Airstream did not add the monitor, why would Alde tell me to turn it on? If Alde thinks the Airstream has one, how can they really troubleshoot anything if you have a problem? I'm guessing once again one hand doesn't know what the other hand is doing. So frustrating but typical Airstream and this entire industry. I guess we just trudge along on our own working things out ourselves.

I'm going to put in a call to Airstream about this. I have another issue I need to talk to them about anyway.
__________________
x\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\101970\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\/x\x/x\x/x
2017 Airstream International Signature 27FB Twin
2019 Airstream Classic 30 Twin


Link to our shared album: https://photos.app.goo.gl/wACfGg1KcroVLP5m6
turk123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 11:37 AM   #15
Rivet Master
 
turk123's Avatar

 
2019 30' Classic
Canfield , Ohio
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2,371
Just got off the phone with John at Airstream about the load monitor. He said, "I don't believe Airstream installed that option on the Classic". He said it shows up as an accessory, but does not function.

So, the electric function on the first panel with the 1 and 2 kW settings function similarly. Setting 2 will use up to 16 amps with setting 1 using 8 amps. If you are hooked to 30 amp circuit on the pole, setting 2 will work, just don't run a hair dryer or you may pop a circuit.

Well, at least we can eliminate the load monitor. Should we tell Alde?
__________________
x\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\101970\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\/x\x/x\x/x
2017 Airstream International Signature 27FB Twin
2019 Airstream Classic 30 Twin


Link to our shared album: https://photos.app.goo.gl/wACfGg1KcroVLP5m6
turk123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 05:59 PM   #16
3 Rivet Member
 
Jhess's Avatar
 
2017 22' Sport
Johns Creek , Georgia
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 112
Iím quite handy with electronics and dealing with finicky electrical issues but really am hoping that Airstream and Alde will get things right with this system before we purchase our 2020 model!
Jhess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 06:04 PM   #17
Rivet Master
 
turk123's Avatar

 
2019 30' Classic
Canfield , Ohio
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jhess View Post
Iím quite handy with electronics and dealing with finicky electrical issues but really am hoping that Airstream and Alde will get things right with this system before we purchase our 2020 model!
Yep, two years to get it done sounds about right!
__________________
x\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\101970\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\/x\x/x\x/x
2017 Airstream International Signature 27FB Twin
2019 Airstream Classic 30 Twin


Link to our shared album: https://photos.app.goo.gl/wACfGg1KcroVLP5m6
turk123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 07:58 AM   #18
Half a Rivet Short
 
2017 30' Classic
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by turk123 View Post
Just got off the phone with John at Airstream about the load monitor. He said, "I don't believe Airstream installed that option on the Classic". He said it shows up as an accessory, but does not function.

So, the electric function on the first panel with the 1 and 2 kW settings function similarly. Setting 2 will use up to 16 amps with setting 1 using 8 amps. If you are hooked to 30 amp circuit on the pole, setting 2 will work, just don't run a hair dryer or you may pop a circuit.

Well, at least we can eliminate the load monitor. Should we tell Alde?
Hi

Which is exactly what they have been saying for several years. It's the basis for my suggesting that the load monitor setting is not anything to fret about. It's been there, but "not installed" for a long time. On a 50A / 240V trailer, the max that the system can pull is trivial compared to the 100A at 120V that is available to use.

There *is* a setting for the number of heating elements you are using. That info is in the All About Alde" thread. The bottom line is still that the max power from 16 or 18A at 120V is puny compared to what the propane burner puts out.

Bob
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 09:21 AM   #19
Rivet Master
 
turk123's Avatar

 
2019 30' Classic
Canfield , Ohio
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2,371
We've been traveling for almost 5 months now and the lowest temps we've encountered are 32 degrees. Most of our nights we're in the 40-55 range and probably not the best test for the Alde system, but for us, those temps are pretty common for the type of travel we've done. We also use the boost every day for two showers. With the Alde set to electric priority and electric also set to 2 kW, we have gone through only 2 1/3 tanks of propane (93 lbs.). That really attests to the fine job the Alde system does on electric and I'm really happy about that. We also use our stove two or three times a week. Our thermostat on the Alde is set to about 70 degrees.
__________________
x\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\101970\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\/x\x/x\x/x
2017 Airstream International Signature 27FB Twin
2019 Airstream Classic 30 Twin


Link to our shared album: https://photos.app.goo.gl/wACfGg1KcroVLP5m6
turk123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 09:44 AM   #20
Rivet Master
 
2019 25' International
Providence , Senior Electrical Engineer
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 781
Quote:
Originally Posted by turk123 View Post
We've been traveling for almost 5 months now and the lowest temps we've encountered are 32 degrees. Most of our nights we're in the 40-55 range and probably not the best test for the Alde system, but for us, those temps are pretty common for the type of travel we've done. We also use the boost every day for two showers. With the Alde set to electric priority and electric also set to 2 kW, we have gone through only 2 1/3 tanks of propane (93 lbs.). That really attests to the fine job the Alde system does on electric and I'm really happy about that. We also use our stove two or three times a week. Our thermostat on the Alde is set to about 70 degrees.
Since I'm buying new, is this load sensor something I should look at buying and installing? I would think that I'd what it to be a robust as possible and if adding the load sensor helps, then I'd do it without question or need......as a just in case......(that's just the way I roll).....being overly prepared is what I'm looking or.......even if I may never use it.....thoughts?
kittmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Alde 3010 boiler to Alde 3020 boiler and Alde flow upgrade Sparr 2016 - Current Classic (all lengths) 58 05-01-2021 09:34 PM
ALDE HEATING SYSTEM FAILURE- Alde glycol discoloration and vent discharge JimskyD 2016 - Current Classic (all lengths) 50 05-25-2018 07:48 AM
Problem with safety valve popping between Alde flow and Alde paul.kukstis 2016 - Current Classic (all lengths) 7 04-08-2018 06:09 AM
Are "Airstream Only" Parks Really "Silver Only"? JimGolden On The Road... 28 08-22-2015 10:58 AM
50 amp to 30 amp only service Pearson422 Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 13 10-08-2013 08:01 AM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.