Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-03-2003, 09:09 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

International CCD 16'

I'm just beginning to consider buying this model since my car is an '88 Saab 900 Turbo and I want the lightest, most compact Airstream I can manage. It'll be just me (65 lol) and the cat for probably no more than a couple of weeks at a time for starters. What would be a reasonable pprice to pay (no bells and whistles necessary) and are there any pre-owned (2002 perhaps?) in existence. I've investigated 16' Bambi's, but they're too hard to find and I can't do any restoration work myself. Am I looking at $30K? P.S. I'm a rv virgin, but willing to do necessary research and footwork before taking the big plunge.
cmwarner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2003, 09:32 PM   #2
Aluminut

2004 25' Safari
. , Illinois
CM,

Your Saab is a nice car, but I have a Bambi and it's 19' long. Even with some stuff deleted and 3' less, that thing is gonna weigh at least 2k unloaded. Loaded maybe 3k. The Saab is just not the right thing to be pulling.

Trade the Saab for a body on frame Caprice, Crown Vic, Fleetwood or an SUV. All are or should be RWD. The Saab was designed as a passenger car to move people and **maybe** pull a jet ski. More than that, I think you are asking for problems. I know that the remaining Intrepid/Hensley folks up north might disagree, but for each of those, I can quote two who might say otherwise.

The lightest A/S I know of is an Argosy Minuet. Even then, I still would thumbs down the Saab to pull it.

I qualify my remarks as have driven and worked on 900s and 9000s (both non turbo). Even with the turbo, they lack what it takes to be a tow vehicle in more than a few respects.