Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar > Generators & Solar Power
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-30-2002, 11:31 AM   #1
Rivet Master

Question Never used a generator before- need help??

I've never used a generator before and need a little infor on operating one with the trailer. Question: do you or can you, plug your 30A power cord(shore-power) directly into the generator? If so, I would imagine that it would charge the batteries and operate furnace, tv & receiver as if I'm hooked up to 30A service. I am correct in this thinking?
I'm looking at the Honda EU2000, any comments on this generator?
Many Thanks, John
John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2002, 12:15 PM   #2
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer

Corona , California
John.
Your correct in your thinking. However, a 2000 watt generator will not run your Airconditioner. A 3000 watt generator with little else on will run an AC.
There are always exceptions, however industry standards call for a minimum 3000 watt generator. 3500 to 4000 is actually the most ideal, since you never want to run a generator at 100 percent. Eighty percent of maximum output should be the cut-off. That allows for the AC and an addition amount for other items.
Your city power provides 3600 watts, 120 VAC at 30 amperes. A 4000 watt plant at 80 percent, would be 3200 watts.

Andy
inlandrv.com
airstreamparts.com
airstreamcandy.com
Inland RV Center, In is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2002, 01:01 PM   #3
Rivet Master

hand strenght

Andy,

The Honda EU2000 weighs 46lbs, which is about the max of my hand strenght since my accident. The EU3000 I believe jumps up to 134lbs, which I would not be able to lift.