Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Exterior Restoration Forum > Cleaning, Stripping & Polishing
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-06-2012, 11:14 PM   #1

Currently Looking...
1966 22' Safari
Oceanside , California
Smile Newbie Here / Success with Removall220

Hey folks, its my first post.

My wife and I found a 1969 27Ft Overlander, and we are super excited about it!

It had been sitting for about 8 years, and was definitely in need of some attention.

It was badly oxidized, and I have been reading lots of posts on why the oxidation occurs, and having to do with the clear coat, so I thought Id give stripping the clear coat a try.

Id say over all, it was DEFINITELY worth it, and only took two days, and a little over a gallon of Removall 220.

It looks like a completely different trailer, and I plan on giving it another go over with Removal 220, and possibly Citristrip.

I did discover that the end cap on the hitch side was a lot more difficult to remove the clear coat. (I think I have read that on other posts).

It came with dingy carpet, installed sometime in the 80's, I ripped it all out, and found underneath the foam, was the original low pile carpet, Im assuming that came stock with the trailer.

Sub floors are in decent shape, and we will be installing cork flooring.

Here is a the album of pics, lots of before and after, and during.

https://picasaweb.google.com/1145326...eat=directlink

Very happy about this website, and all the help everyone offers!!!

Please contact me if you are around the San Diego area, would love to actually find someone in person that knows about Airstreams, that could tell me what I have.

EM
ericmilhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 12:53 AM   #2
Very american 4 a french