Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > General Repair Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-25-2016, 08:41 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1975 27' Overlander
Toronto , Ontario
Looking for advice on body repairs for 75 Ambassador International

Hi Everyone,

It's my first time joining this forum as I am about to make myself owner of my very first airstream. I came across it by luck and and it's a 29' 1975 Ambassador International Airstream. It has been out on the road for 40 years actively used by the previous owner. Before I make the purchase, I wanted to ask for some advice on things to look out for when buying a vintage airstream as well as a few minor repair questions.

The owner used it last 2 weeks ago and he mentioned it tows well and that the brakes work good too. He's even offered for me to take a seat in his truck and go around the block with the Airstream behind it so I can feel it. Since it has been so actively used over the years, he would prefer we take it to a garage to get it inspected before he formally sells it to me so he knows it is safe for me to use. This alone makes me feel good about this sale other than the fact that he does not seem in a rush to sell.

The condition of the trailer currently is:
  • Stripped on the inside, all that is still there is one toilet ha-ha. It's been mostly used as a change room/prop item on photo/video shoots.
  • Oxidized aluminum on the exterior
  • Wheels with appropriate thread
  • Surface rust on the frame underneath (no flaking as far as I can see when I peeked between the belly pan in several spots from back to front, I know this most often does not mean anything)
  • Body damage, window replacement and odd looking bumper