Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Running Gear - Axles, Brakes, Wheels & Tires > Tires
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-13-2017, 11:26 AM   #1
4 Rivet Member

1976 29' Ambassador
Madison , Officially SD but are traveling full time.
ST-D rated tires vs ST-E rated tires

I have been running ST 225/75/15 D on my 1976 29' AS for the past 10 years. I need two new tires but they are telling me that no one is making ST D rated tires any more and they only have ST E rated tires.

When we first started traveling I read a post by Andy R. He said that the D rated tires are good but the sidewalls of the E rated tires are too stiff and will lead to frame cracks and shell fatigue.

Any opinion on D vs E rated tires?

Can I run two Ds and two Es at the same time?

Thanks,

Michael
Eagle & Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 05:55 AM   #2
CapriRacer

I'm in the , US
Yes, you can run both LR D and LR E tires at the same time (on a trailer), but at the same pressure and not as a dualled pair (one of each).

And just to be clear, a dualled pair would have 4 tires on an axle, and a tandem pair (the usual configuration for a trailer), would have 2 axles with 2 tires on each axle for a total of 4 tires.
CapriRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 07:02 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1988 25' Excella
1987 32' Excella
Knoxville , Tennessee