Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-16-2007, 06:43 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1971 29' Ambassador
Merritt , British Columbia
Thermostat burning out

I'm now on my second thermostat. I just replaced the my 30 year old Suburban NT30s with a more modern NT30sp. The furnace came with a thermostat. I hooked everything up, as far as I can tell, according to the directions. When I fired up the thermostat it started to smoke. The insulation burned off the wires. So... I went out today and bought another thermostat. Hooked it up... same problem. It gave quite a light show before it went out.

What am I doing wrong? Should I not be setting the anticipator to Millivolt? (don't laugh at me if I shouldn't... I'm still learning.... and do have a fire extinguisher handy.
ayresdream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 06:48 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1977 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
1964 26' Overlander
1977 25' Tradewind
Eastern , Washington
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayresdream
I'm now on my second thermostat. I just replaced the my 30 year old Suburban NT30s with a more modern NT30sp. The furnace came with a thermostat. I hooked everything up, as far as I can tell, according to the directions. When I fired up the thermostat it started to smoke. The insulation burned off the wires. So... I went out today and bought another thermostat. Hooked it up... same problem. It gave quite a light show before it went out.

What am I doing wrong? Should I not be setting the anticipator to Millivolt? (don't laugh at me if I shouldn't... I'm still learning.... and do have a fire extinguisher handy.
With the thermostat unhooked, what is the voltage on the wires?
Check both AC and DC voltages. I suspect that you are having trouble with the control board. Should be 12Vdc with no AC.
Old 01-16-2007, 08:20 PM   #3
Rivet Master
Commercial Member

Vintage Kin Owner
Naples , Florida
Quote: