Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-06-2004, 02:30 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Question on Fabric for seating

I am a newbie to this entire Airstream world. I was lucky enough to be given a 1966 Globetrotter (brother in laws wife said it had to go so she could have a flower garden). I would say it about an 7 out of 10 all complete all documentation even the original sales receipt and all books. My question is that I want to replace the upholstery and don't know how much fabric I will need. Can anyone help. Please.
nbka1bm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2004, 03:22 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2005 22' International CCD
Buckhorn , Ontario
All I did was take the measurements of all the seat cushions along with the backrests - gae these measurements to an upholstery shop over the phone and they told me how many yards/meters I would need.

When you determine what material you are getting find out the width of the bolt - you can then make a template (on paper) of how all the pieces of material will fit - always leave about 2-3 inches for a hem as well don't forget the sides usually 4-6 inches thick.

To do our Globetrotter - inlcudes a dinette with a single (or half of a goucho) on both sides, the back rests and the double in the back which is made up with four sections of seat cushions as well as the back - I needed 15 yards total. Check out my photo album for pictures to give you an idea of the area that is covered.
05ModPod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2004, 08:10 PM   #3
Rivet Master

It depends entirely upon the fabric. Some bolts are wider than others. In addition, patterns generally have a "repeat", i.e. a point at which seams can meet while continuing the pattern. The size of the repeats is a major factor.

Mark
j54mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2004, 08:27 PM   #4
Rivet Master

2005 22' International CCD
Buckhorn , Ontario
Hi Mark;