Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-19-2020, 03:09 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2020 25' Flying Cloud
SAINT AUGUSTINE , Florida
New Guy (Clueless) in Florida

Hiya from Saint Augustine, Florida. My wife and myself are complete newbies to this kind of camping, having only rented a travel trailor once for a weekend a few years ago. We are currently in the market weighing our options and both the trailor AND what to tow it with. We are set on an Airstream and intend to do extended multi-week trips often throughout the year, using it as a base of operations for telecommuting while seeing this amazing country of ours. Not quite full-timing, but approaching a 50/50 split.

I will be here alot looking at how everybody has overcome the challenges I already see coming (internet connectivity, and energy management) and many more I don't see yet.

Thanks in advance for your time and advice!
Apexbasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2020, 03:59 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2015 28' International
Ofallon , Missouri
Welcome!

We were all clueless at one point. This forum is a great educational resource.

We started with a used 25’ (7000 lbs gw). We liked it a lot and eventually (unplanned though) upgraded to a new 28’ (7600 lbs gw). We tow with a Nissan Armada w/ tow package rated for 9000 lbs. We have 25,000 miles on the combo and love it.
Old 01-19-2020, 05:16 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2019 27' Globetrotter
McHenry , Illinois
Apexbasher, welcome to the Airstream Community and Forums! You are in the right place - most of us here started in the exact same spot as you.

I can tell you there are dozens if not hundreds of threads on these topics so the Search bar at the top of the page is your friend.