Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Repairing/Replacing Floor &/or Frame
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-14-2013, 12:02 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member

1977 31' Excella 500
Zavalla , Texas
Repairing rust hole in frame

Hi everyone - I'm going to repair a rust hole in the frame and wondered what the recommended method would be. I've never done this before. Pics are below (one pic shows the back side if the rail).

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3925446870.jpg
Views:	382
Size:	645.4 KB
ID:	199939

Name:	image-3234401527.jpg
Views:	400
Size:	571.7 KB
ID:	199940

Name:	image-898738141.jpg
Views:	319
Size:	361.7 KB
ID:	199941

The outrigger on the forward side of the street wheel well was just cut out from in front of this area.

I can access the back of the rail (side with the OPEN holes) to insert a piece of flat bar to back the welding repair but I don't really have enough access through the holes to weld it from that side. It looks like a run of conduit is going through there and prevents any hope of access.

So my thinking is to drill some holes in the frame and then I will weld through along with a lot of welding and filling in the actual rust hole.

Is this a good strategy? Should I drill a lot of holes or just a few? Big or small holes? Should I cut the rusted out section back a lot, maybe even to straight edges, or just grind back the damaged area as best I can?

Finally, is there much I can do to repair and protect the areas not directly seen from further deterioration other than ospho or por15? I'm not sure if the area between all these plates joining is rusting as well. Guess it doesn't matter to much as I can't access it any way I can think of to grind and brush stuff out.
WBCCI #1711