Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents > Buyer Guidelines
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-05-2017, 01:03 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Point pleasant , Nj
Help buying out of state and shipping

Newbie here, looking at buying a 25' in TX. We are in NJ and have been looking at Airstreams for awhile, this is our first time buying. How best to handle the money transaction/title transfer/Bill of Sale when purchasing from out of state and having a shipping company pick up and deliver the Airstream? (it is actually cheaper to have it shipped than to take off work and drive down and pick it up, and grandma won't have to watch the kids and dogs). We have already had the trailer inspected by a certified inspector and it is in good condition just not sure how to handle the logistics/money when it is a remote sale. Any suggestions would be much appreciated. Value your expertise here.
Jprinston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 01:11 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member

2005 30' Classic
Zionsville , Indiana
Did this back in July, 30' Classic. But, me picking it up IN to TX was less expensive than shipping. As far as money, you have tons of options. Just write and mail a check. Of course, they won't release the title until the check clears, but I suspect you are not in a rush. I had my bank just do a funds transfer for ours. Then we drove down, picked it (and a new Blue Ox hitch) up and road tripped home, sort of a shake-down.

Had we shipped, the RV dealer/seller would have signed and shipped documents and we would have signed/shipped back (stuff that needed to go back). It is a pretty simple process, especially if you are working with a dealer vs. private party.