Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents > Trailer Values
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-08-2016, 09:27 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1973 23' Safari
Texarkana , Texas
Question Value of 1973 Safari?

Wanting to know opinions on this Airstream. I am new to this world but super excited! My husband & I are going to start traveling soon so now seeking out an Airstream, we really need 24 feet or less. I have found a 1973 Safari 23 feet... would appreciate any tips to look for.

Seller says there is slight denting to skin near the awning, Inverter not working, Polishing not complete. Other than that he says the floor is in good condition, no leaks. Asking $8500. Is this a fair price?

Thanks!
Kearston91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2016, 10:16 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1977 23' Safari
Niagara on the Lake , Ontario
If it's in good shape I'd pay that.
Open the bathroom cabinet and feel around on the floor for rotten plywood. My Safari had a hole back there that was the start of some rear end separation.
If you can take the bumper off you'll be able to get a good look at the rear frame, cross members and hold down plate.

Safari is a great size trailer!
AldeanFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2016, 05:44 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member

1973 23' Safari
Texarkana , Texas
Thanks! I think we are going to go for it.
Old 11-09-2016, 06:29 PM   #4
Remember, Safety Third

1973 27' Overlander
Catfish Corners , Georgia
Um, does everything work.....normally? Except the inverter? Without a functional inverter you can't properly check the electrical system.