Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents > Trailer Values
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-02-2011, 08:26 AM   #1

Currently Looking...
Chester , Vermont
Opinions requested: '60 Tradewind

Hi! I'm new to this, looking to purchase my first Airstream with the goal of being road-ready by July 2011. My "must-have's" are less than 30', twin beds (would love to have bunks too), and in good condition with all working systems OR a reasonable renovation (which I will have done by professionals) to keep the total price below about 12K if possible. I like the look of the older models, '60s-'70s era. I'm a sucker for the retro look.

Here's where I'd like an opinion: I have been talking with a guy who does restorations and started on a 24' 1960 Tradewind with mid-twins and a curbside bunk, with an unusual window arrangement to accomodate that bunk. Perfect! The interior is removed and not put back in. Here's what is done: repaired damaged skins where there was a blow-out, rebuilt frame front to back, plywood floor and pergo over all, new windows and rubbers, zolotone interior, new wiring and lights on outside, polished once, insulation replaced on lower part (higher up was fine), axle is old-style surge brakes and will need replacement, has fixtures and appliances (not installed), interior is complete but dated and owner recommends completely replacing this (as there is damage where things were hung up, and it is original and not in great shape) using original parts as template for a cabinet maker to reproduce. He says it needs modern "pex tubing" as old copper plumbing was leaky and this can be done as interior goes back in. Also needs belly pan after all installed. He thinks this can all be done for 8-10K if hired out.