Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-10-2020, 12:54 PM   #1

Freeland , MI
Looking on Guidance for Tow Vehicle

Hi friends! This is my first time posting here, so I'm hoping that this is the right place. I'm a college student looking to buy a car that I hope to be able to use to pull an airstream in the future--nothing longer than 23'. I'm not sure how weight varies on the different models of this size (I'll be buying secondhand, so I'm guessing it will just be a case by case basis when the time comes). What are your recommendations for a reliable vehicle that would be great as a tow vehicle and also as an everyday car? I'm looking to find a good balance between not having too huge of a vehicle (I go to school in an urban area, and parking is difficult) and also being able to tow the AS without too much worry.
eileenkelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2020, 01:22 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member

2015 28' Flying Cloud
Newtown , Pennsylvania
You are going to need a vehicle that will have a tow rating of at least 7,000 pounds. A larger SUV or a pickup. Probably not what you wanted to hear.

Bruce
PD9160 converter, Prosine 1800 inverter
2x Victron 100/30 Smart Solar, Victron Smart Shunt
AstroBruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2020, 01:26 PM   #3
Trailer Sold, Waving

2019 26' Flying Cloud
Stettler , Alberta
Your target trailer is about 6,000 lbs. so just about any worthy SUV could pull it. May I suggest, as a new college student, you go for practical and long term. You might have to haul furniture or outdoor toys for you or your friends. You might some day have a companion, and maybe a 25 or 26 or 27 foot trailer is in your future.