Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-25-2017, 09:23 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Santa Rosa Beach , Florida
Advice, not sure I trust the "expert"

Picked up the new Airstream this morning. I am new to towing, so a lot of this is forgien to me.

Dealer set up the WDH, but after going to the scales, I think I still need to adjust more. Everything seemed fine, but from looking at numbers I seems to still be heavy o. The rear. Attached is my CAT scale sheet, what do you think?

Truck has 4900 front and rear axel ratings.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf titan weight.pdf (1.37 MB, 246 views)
Drennanb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2017, 10:59 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2013 25' FB Flying Cloud
Longmont , Colorado
That weight ticket is not enough to answer the question. To really understand how your weight is distributed, you need to get three sets of weights.

1) Just the tow vehicle. You have to park the trailer and disconnect the TV to do this.
2) With the trailer connected, but with the WD not hooked up.
3) Trailer connect with WD connected. This is the one you already have.

By comparing 1 and 3, you can see how much weight is added or removed from each axle when you hook up the trailer. With 1 and 2, you can find out what the tongue weight of the trailer is (subtract the total in 1 from the tow vehicle axle total in 2).

There are different ideas of what is "right" in terms of how much weight the WD hitch should transfer.