Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-03-2004, 12:08 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2008 27' Safari FB SE
Miami , Florida
Nissan Titan

Howdy All,

Newbie here looking for wisdom...

Been out shopping for a tow vehicle. We intend to use it to tow a 28'CCD (7300# max weight).

Really like the Nissan Titan -- it is rated to pull 9500# but a closer perusal of the specs shows the Titan payload at 1565#. Put 900# (from the CCD spec sheet) on the hitch and I am left with 665#. Put myself and spouse in the seats and I am left with 365# for cargo.

So, am I cutting it too tight? #365 seems like a trifle but I suspect most of what we will carry will be in the trailer...

Guidance most appreciated.

Plan "B" would be a Ford F-250 with the V-10. Will more than carry all I can imagine and then some but is a pretty vanilla vehicle.

Thanks

Mike
n2916s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 12:32 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2003 25' Safari
Kissimmee , Florida
I think your logic is correct... but remember the weight distributing hitch will spread the 900# between the front axle, rear axle, and trailer axles - roughly 1/3 to each. So you will have about 300# more carry capacity in the Titan than you were thinking.

I tow a 2003 25' Safari (GVRW of 6300) with a 2002 Ford Explorer V8 (tow rated at 7000). The combination is usable, but marginal. I have the Explorer because it's my company car... If I were buying I'd get a 3/4 ton pickup or perhaps 2500 Suburban.

The new Ford F150 sure is nice... perhaps a properly configured one would meet your needs- max towing 9,200# and GCWR of 15,000# for crew cab, with 4WD, the 5.4 engine, and 3.73 axle.
Old 03-03-2004, 12:40 PM   #3

2004 30' Classic Slideout
Fenton , Missouri
Send a message via AIM to jcanavera Send a message via Skype™ to jcanavera
Quote:
Originally posted by dmac