Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-13-2004, 08:04 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member

2005 25' International CCD
Pope Valley , California
Cool Help! Duramax vs. Quadrasteer

I'm new to the Airstream world, or the trailer pulling world for that matter. I will be getting a 25' International CCD. Now I'm trying to figure out the tow vehicle. I've sought advice from friends and this forum but I'm getting more confused. I want to stick to the Chevy Silverado because of some pricing discounts I can get by having a friend at GM. I've driven the 2500HD Duramax/Allison and the 1500 Quadrasteer. I was impressed with both. The quadrasteer was appealing because it drives more like my Volvo XC, which I will be giving up for the new truck. The Duramax was appealing because of power, fuel efficiency etc.

This will be my only vehicle, used for towing and everything else. I live on a narrow winding road. The turn into my driveway is greater than 90 degrees. I plan to tow at least once a month and about 12 continous weeks each year.

Reading the different threads here, both vehicles have strong supporters. What's the advice when considering between the two?
Hit'the'road is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2004, 09:25 AM   #2
Aluminut

2004 25' Safari
. , Illinois
Well, to me it looks like this.

I like the Duramax, but it might be a bit overkill for a 6300lb coach. I mean a good 6.0L with 4.10 gears would do beyond well with your 25' CCD. I am unsure quadrasteer is avail with the Duramax anyway.