Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Interior Restoration Forum > General Interior Topics
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-23-2006, 10:25 PM   #1

Currently Looking...
Toronto , Ontario
1961 Globetrotter makeover issues - HELP!

Hello everyone, I'm new to this site. I'm an interior designer and - surprise - this is my first attempt to redesign an Airstream.

My client has a 1961 19' Globe Trotter that is completely gutted. We are putting in new floors, wall finish, and a bar at the end closest to the door.

I know most of the answers to the questions I have are already posted in previous forums, but if anyone can post a link to point me in the right direction, it would be much appreciated. I'm up to my eyeballs in information and it's all a bit confusing, and conflicting.

First step is wiring the electrical - a couple of light switches by the door and one over the countertop of the bar. The problem with the bar is that it's going under the window of the hitch end, and this window is only about 30" above the finished floor. Normal counter height is 36". Has anyone ever done a sort of build-out, like putting a bar in at 36" and having a scooped-out section where the window is lower? (Does that make sense?)

Another issue is the air conditioner that the client wants. I found on an earlier thread here that pre-1962 trailers were not reinforced in the ceilings to provide ample support for a roof-mounted AC unit. What is this "Fantastic Fan" I keep seeing popping up in related talk? Is it a viable alternative to an air conditioner? The trailer is mounted on a roof and will get quite hot in summer.

This is a beginning to the hundreds of questions I have. Please, please, please reply if you have any advice on where to start!

Thanks!