Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Winterizing, Storage, Carports & Covers
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-30-2014, 06:46 AM   #1
Globey

2015 23' FB Flying Cloud
Wayne , Pennsylvania
Short term storage in cold climates

I am brand new to RVing and plan on doing 2 week trips from my home in PA. What can I do for storage when I am home for a few weeks in the winter? Is it just a matter of draining all of the water. It will be cold enough to freeze things when I am home between trips so I don't want anything damaged but also don't think a full winterization is a good idea once a month. I probably will be traveling once a month in Jan, Feb and March.
Thanks for the help
scottj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 06:55 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1970 27' Overlander
Espanola , Full Timer
Send a message via Yahoo to AIR-Quarius Send a message via Skype™ to AIR-Quarius
Yes get the water out of it! Then blow out the pipes with compressed air and the others will tell you about putting antifreeze in the system. Just remember all of you that antifreeze is deadly to any animal so be careful how you are using it.
Old 08-30-2014, 07:04 AM   #3
Lost in America

2015 27' FB International
2006 25' Safari FB SE
2004 19' International CCD
Santa Fe , New Mexico
If you will be returning to a warm climate, like Florida, why not look for storage there? That way you will not need to keep winterizing and deal with towing in a snow storm.

2015 Airstream International Serenity 27FB
Chevy Silverado 2500HD Duramax Diesel

mojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 07:20 AM   #4
3 Rivet Member

2013 25' FB International
Liberty Corner , New Jersey
Are you concerned about road salt on the roads in the winter during those times that you travel?