Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Windows, Doors, Locks & Vents > Roof Vents, Skylights & Fans
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-04-2016, 11:56 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2016 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Berwyn , Pennsylvania
Staying cool in the lounge while underway

Newbie here. Traveled last night with guests in rear on a hot night. What can I do to keep them cool. Side window vents open? Foof vent open, how high? Roof AC running? Cold beer?
Hi Yo AG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 12:28 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Don't you have a generator? Run it and the AC. That is what most MH do.

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 01:28 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2019 27' International
2014 25' International
2006 23' Safari SE
Boulder City , Nevada
It is all Relative: Las Vegas Mohave Desert- Off the Grid

You did not say where, when, temperature or humidity.... but to compare:

Mohave Desert Boondocking is wonderful during October to April. Not June, July or August. September and May are transitional. I could also include the entire Southwest and Southern States... for experiences of Hot, Humid and Miserable.. but want to have some optimism about the Summer months.

This concerns Off the Grid camping in your Airstream. I could include with full hookups and still wonder... why not head North and towards Elevations above 5,000 feet?

June 4, 2016 Boulder City, Nevada 2506 feet elevation, 10:30AM sunny

Outdoor temperature under shaded patio: 99.0 F
Outdoor temperature in sunlight: 104.0 F 7% humidity
Aluminum exterior of Airstream in sunlight: 140.5 F 1% humidity
Inside trailer while in sunlight: 96.0 F 7% humidity
Inside trailer while in sunlight with two ceiling fans at #3: 97.0 F