Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2010, 11:50 AM   #1
Rivet Master
 
bwaysteve's Avatar
 
1965 28' Ambassador
Irving , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 590
Images: 5
Wire ga.

Ready to purchase stranded 110 and 12v wire.What ga. for ea. and for 110 2 wire or 3 w/ground.
__________________

__________________
bwaysteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 11:54 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
wkerfoot's Avatar
 
1979 23' Safari
1954 29' Liner
Orange , California
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,667
I used 12-3 for the 110V circuits, except for the run from the Marinco outlet to the breaker box which was 10-3. That way outlet is grounded. I also used 12G for most of the 12V circuits except for a couple which used 10G.

Bill

Quote:
Originally Posted by bwaysteve View Post
Ready to purchase stranded 110 and 12v wire.What ga. for ea. and for 110 2 wire or 3 w/ground.
__________________

__________________
Bill Kerfoot, WBCCI/VAC/CAC/El Camino Real Unit #5223
Just my personal opinion
1973 Dodge W200 PowerWagon, 1977 Lincoln Continental, 2014 Dodge Durango
1979 23' Safari, and 1954 29' Double Door Liner Orange, CA

http://billbethsblog.blogspot.com/
wkerfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 12:08 PM   #3
More than one rivet loose
 
thecatsandi's Avatar

 
Currently Looking...
Keymar , Maryland
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwaysteve View Post
Ready to purchase stranded 110 and 12v wire.What ga. for ea. and for 110 2 wire or 3 w/ground.
For "Normal" outlets 12/2 W/ ground. I would make sure you use grommets when passing through anything in the trailer.
__________________
Michelle TAC MT-0
Sarah, Snowball

Looking for a 1962 Flying Cloud

thecatsandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 12:09 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
HowieE's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,811
Images: 12
Wire size is a function of the FUSE value behind the wire

For 120 volt circuits fused at 20 amps you want #12 wire. If you are fusing at 15 amps you can use #14 wire. In both cases use wire with a ground and carry the ground to every receptacle.

!2 volt circuits fused at 20 amps want #12 wire. The body of the trailer is the ground. Any circuit fused above 20 amps, the electric jack at 30 amps, should be wired with #10 wire.
__________________
WBCCI 12156 AIR 3144 WACHUNG TAC NJ6
2004 Excursion 4x4
1991 34 ft. Excella +220,000 miles, new laminated flooring, new upholstery, new 3200 lbs axles

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 01:13 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
Gene's Avatar
 
2008 25' Safari FB SE
Grand Junction , Colorado
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,840
Stranded wire is much more expensive than solid core. 12 gauge wire used inside the trailer need not be stranded.

Gene
__________________
Gene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 01:24 PM   #6
4 Rivet Member
 
2006 30' Classic
Milton , Florida
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 256
Another thought for consideration when wire will be subjected to vibration and flexing is that stranded wire is more resistant to fatigue failure than is solid.
__________________
F. A. Meloy
2006 30' Classic
Dexter hydraulic disc brake system
Centramatics wheel balancing & Dill TPMS
Hensley hitch & Maxim skylights
Voyager Camera System WVOS713
2010 FORD F-250, ITBC, 6.8 liter V-10 gas, with VIAIR on-board air system
nickmeloy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 02:31 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
bwaysteve's Avatar
 
1965 28' Ambassador
Irving , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 590
Images: 5
Thanks,Got the idea.I guess I can hijack my own post with this.If running 110 or 12v for that matter should the refer,microwave,and wh be on separate runs with their own outlets.Does each run go to a fused block and then 1 20amp wire to the breaker box?I guess I am wondering if I have seperate runs how they relate to the breaker box and how many breakers are needed.
__________________
bwaysteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 02:38 PM   #8
x
 
XXXX , XXXX
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,601
110VAc one breaker for each circuit. No hidden junction points or fuse blocks. My 73 had one circuit for whole trailer and one other circuit for A/C. Wire ran from Circiut breaker panel into first receptacle then back out to next receptacle and so on. I would run seperate wires 7 circuit breakers to fridge,microwave,A/C, front receptacles, rear receptacles and one seperate run for kitchen/bathroom/outdoor receptacle with a GFCI breaker.
__________________
wasagachris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 02:42 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
bwaysteve's Avatar
 
1965 28' Ambassador
Irving , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 590
Images: 5
two

Quote:
Originally Posted by wasagachris View Post
110VAc one breaker for each circuit. No hidden junction points or fuse blocks. My 73 had one circuit for whole trailer and one other circuit for A/C. Wire ran from Circiut breaker panel into first receptacle then back out to next receptacle and so on. I would run seperate wires 7 circuit breakers to fridge,microwave,A/C, front receptacles, rear receptacles and one seperate run for kitchen/bathroom/outdoor receptacle with a GFCI breaker.
Mine just had two also a 20 and a30.So I will get a separate box.On the 12v I think all the runs can go to a fuse box and one wire to converter?Right?
__________________
bwaysteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 03:32 PM   #10
x
 
XXXX , XXXX
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,601
Steve yes 12VDC can run to fuse box and one wire to converter. Some converters have bulit in fuse panels. It would be a good idea to run grounds from each load(light/fan etc) to ground block at fuse panel. Original 12VDC just grounds to shell either through light housing or grounded to shell with screw/rivet. If you are going to rewire then add grounds now and eliminate problems later. I see your'e planning on solar as well,do you plan to increase your number of batteries as well. If so wher would they be going?
__________________
wasagachris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 04:48 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
bwaysteve's Avatar
 
1965 28' Ambassador
Irving , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 590
Images: 5
I am thinking of doing a custom desk in place of one goucho and putting the batteries there..The Lifelines are pricey but plan is for 2 100 amp initially.Want to wire for solar and all and add within a year.I did see at Bestconverters a 45amp distribution panel all in one unit by Progressive Dynamics with 5 ac branch circuits 10dc 20 amp 2 dc 30amp.
Sounds like the kind of simplification I need.Will definitely runs the grounds as it's only wire at this point and everything is open.Want to do it right at this point!
__________________
bwaysteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 06:31 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
Melody Ranch's Avatar
 
1956 22' Flying Cloud
1953 32' Liner
1955 22' Safari
Valley View , Texas
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,960
Images: 78
Send a message via Skype™ to Melody Ranch
Come visit...we will solve this....bring the Airstream.
__________________
"If it can't be reduced, reused, repaired, rebuilt, refurbished, refinished, resold, recycled or composted
then it should be restricted, redesigned or removed from production."
Melody Ranch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 06:52 PM   #13
Rivet Master
 
clancy_boy's Avatar
 
2003 22' International CCD
Kiln , Mississippi
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,780
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Melody Ranch View Post
Come visit...we will solve this....bring the Airstream.

WOW, what a great response and offer. Just to see posts like this make me glad I have an Airstream and am part of a community like this.

Way to go MR.
__________________
Michael & Tina with Layla and Preston BZ
The family has grown.
2003 22' INTERNATIONAL CCD
clancy_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 07:52 PM   #14
Rivet Master
 
bwaysteve's Avatar
 
1965 28' Ambassador
Irving , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 590
Images: 5
I knew I could count on you Mr. Melody Ranch.1st layer Prodex nearly finished,new floor in so I think I can make it 20 mi. to your place.Thanks,Steve
__________________

__________________
bwaysteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is this wire ? Mrcrowley Lights - Interior & Exterior 7 11-13-2010 12:23 AM
Green wire/White wire magnets robbier49 Brakes & Brake Controllers 3 07-08-2009 07:26 PM
where does this wire go? bullydogsmom Lights - Interior & Exterior 9 04-11-2009 06:54 PM
Two wire and three wire converters??? max7 Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 1 02-28-2008 06:27 PM
This wire doesn't look right? LI Pets Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 10 09-02-2006 08:37 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.