Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-18-2017, 09:31 PM   #1
Rivet Master
 
PharmGeek's Avatar

 
2014 30' FB FC Bunk
Hoover , Alabama
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,377
Dear Airstream - inverter outlets

Is it not possible to make the inverter run the same outlets you use for shore power?

Ie - when inverter is on but no shore power - no unplugging then replugging?

If so - maybe do that?

That is all.
__________________

__________________
“The atoms of our bodies are traceable to stars that manufactured them...We are not figuratively, but literally stardust.”


PharmGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 10:31 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
1974 31' Sovereign
1979 23' Safari
Wayland , New York
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,624
Images: 3
Is it possible? Sure, but would require some rewiring. Plus you'd have to be very careful with hidden parasitic loads, especially if you forget to put the fridge on gas, quick way to drain the batteries. Plus you'd have to be careful about forgetting to turn it off and reverse powering a shore supply down the road.
__________________

__________________
HiJoeSilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 10:33 PM   #3
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by PharmGeek View Post
Is it not possible to make the inverter run the same outlets you use for shore power?

Ie - when inverter is on but no shore power - no unplugging then replugging?

If so - maybe do that?

That is all.
PG,

One of the limiting factors in accomplishing your query is the size of the inverter supplied by Airstream. Being only a 1000 watt unit, it does not have the capacity to energize every outlet in the trailer (8.3 amp max.)

Some of the new trainers like the 26U no longer have the redundant dual outlets like your unit has (with the blue stickers) as they have actually made use of the 120VAC pass-thru feature on the WFCO inverter so that a select number (4) 120VAC outlets are inverter powered when off grid and also shore powered when plugged in. This required adding a dedicated 120VAC input circuit in the vicinity of the inverter.

To enable the operation of every outlet in your trailer, you need:
• larger capacity battery bank
• 2000 watt minimum capacity inverter with integrated 120VAC pass-thru
• new split-bus breaker box for both the main and inverter circuits.

I do upgrades like the above to almost every installation that I perform. It's a great feature to have all of your outlets powered when off grid, but there definitely IS a price to pay........
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 10:36 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
PharmGeek's Avatar

 
2014 30' FB FC Bunk
Hoover , Alabama
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewster View Post
PG,

One of the limiting factors in accomplishing your query is the size of the inverter supplied by Airstream. Being only a 1000 watt unit, it does not have the capacity to energize every outlet in the trailer (8.3 amp max.)

Some of the new trainers like the 26U no longer have the redundant dual outlets like your unit has (with the blue stickers) as they have actually made use of the 120VAC pass-thru feature on the WFCO inverter so that a select number (4) 120VAC outlets are inverter powered when off grid and also shore powered when plugged in. This required adding a dedicated 120VAC input circuit in the vicinity of the inverter.

To enable the operation of every outlet in your trailer, you need:
• larger capacity battery bank
• 2000 watt minimum capacity inverter with integrated 120VAC pass-thru
• new split-bus breaker box for both the main and inverter circuits.

I do upgrades like the above to almost every installation that I perform. It's a great feature to have all of your outlets powered when off grid, but there definitely IS a price to pay........


News to me!

I would only want this feature "badly" for 3 outlets - 2 TV's and the one that powers the blu ray and such....
__________________
“The atoms of our bodies are traceable to stars that manufactured them...We are not figuratively, but literally stardust.”


PharmGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 12:05 AM   #5
2 Rivet Member
 
J-Dog's Avatar

 
2014 27' Flying Cloud
Fullerton , California
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 66
Warning I may be incorrect in my thinking here, but after reading your first and second post here is my thought.

I am assuming you do not want to keep moving your TV and the DVD player plugs back and forth from the shore powered AC receptacles to the inverted AC receptacles, depending on if you are on shore power or battery power.

Now if I correctly understand the "Pass through" power feature on the inverter...

You would leave the TV's plugged into the "Blue tagged" inverter powered outlets.

After installing a 110 volt AC shore powered receptacle near your inverter and plugging in the "pass through" plug from the inverter to that newly installed receptacle. You could now have those blue stickered 110 Volt AC outlets powered on shore power with the inverter off, and when you are not on shore power you would turn your inverter on to supply the AC voltage for your entertainment system.
You would no longer need to switch the plugs back and forth.

Can anyone let me know if this would be a correct statement?
__________________
J-Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 12:08 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
PharmGeek's Avatar

 
2014 30' FB FC Bunk
Hoover , Alabama
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by J-Dog View Post
Warning I may be incorrect in my thinking here, but after reading your first and second post here is my thought.



I am assuming you do not want to keep moving your TV and the DVD player plugs back and forth from the shore powered AC receptacles to the inverted AC receptacles, depending on if you are on shore power or battery power.



Now if I correctly understand the "Pass through" power feature on the inverter...



You would leave the TV's plugged into the "Blue tagged" inverter powered outlets.



After installing a 110 volt AC shore powered receptacle near your inverter and plugging in the "pass through" plug from the inverter to that newly installed receptacle. You could now have those blue stickered 110 Volt AC outlets powered on shore power with the inverter off, and when you are not on shore power you would turn your inverter on to supply the AC voltage for your entertainment system.

You would no longer need to switch the plugs back and forth.



Can anyone let me know if this would be a correct statement?


You are correct about me not wanting to switch the TV plug ins - not at all sure about the specifics of your solution proposed.....
__________________
“The atoms of our bodies are traceable to stars that manufactured them...We are not figuratively, but literally stardust.”


PharmGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 02:59 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
1974 31' Sovereign
1979 23' Safari
Wayland , New York
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,624
Images: 3
Not all inverters are pass through, but if there is an outlet nearby that you could plug in a pass through inverter into, you could upgrade to one and leave the things plugged into the inverter outlets all the time, as mentioned by j-dog. Not sure what AS put in your rig.
__________________
HiJoeSilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 12:10 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
Troutboy's Avatar

 
2017 23' Flying Cloud
Parker , Colorado
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,060
Images: 1
I recently did a solar upgrade that involved a new 2400W inverter, and sub panels as Lewster mentions. It's great. Every outlet provides AC when on shore power and while boondocking with inverter on. It's really great. If you would like to see a. Wiring diagram PM me. To do the wiring and new inverter to make this work would cost between $1500-$2000 depending on the inverter you chose
__________________
Thanks,
Troutboy
Troutboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 01:21 PM   #9
4 Rivet Member
 
Rgentum's Avatar
 
2016 27' Flying Cloud
Woodinville , Washington
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 337
I have this feature on my boat (but not trailer) with a 2.8K watt Magnum inverter/charger, but that unit alone on Amazon is $1,640, & there was a substantial amount of other equipment + wiring that was required.

https://www.amazon.com/Magnum-MS2812...verter+charger
__________________
Alta & Richard, Seattle area --- WBCCI 8873
"Aurum": 2015 Ram 2500 Laramie 4x4 Diesel
"Argentum": 2016 AS FC 27 FB
"BigDog": M Harlequin Great Dane, 150 lb
WL7Z --- NAUI --- WSBA
Rgentum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 02:32 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
PharmGeek's Avatar

 
2014 30' FB FC Bunk
Hoover , Alabama
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,377
So basically, even to have a few of these types of dual outlets as such, it just means more $$....

I am not sure I want to drop 2K for such an upgrade...but maybe at some point...

I just wondered just how much AS had saved doing it with 2 sets of these outlets vs just making them dual use.
__________________
“The atoms of our bodies are traceable to stars that manufactured them...We are not figuratively, but literally stardust.”


PharmGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 04:35 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
lsbrodsky's Avatar
 
2012 25' FB International
Trent Woods , North Carolina
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,687
I am not sure that they would have saved any money. If they had used inverters with passthrough capability, and even the Chinese inverters have that, then one set of outlets at each location would have worked. It strikes me that they were trying to prevent overloading the puny 600w, then 1000w, inverters with non-entertainment system loads.

Larry
__________________
lsbrodsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 05:39 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
Wayne&Sam's Avatar
 
2014 25' Flying Cloud
Cuddebackville , New York
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3,070
Images: 21
I believe the 1000 watt stock inverter does allow for passthrough, the outlets just aren't wired for it. I say this because there is a button on my inverter and a label that says what position it needs to be in for passthrough.
__________________
2014 25' Flying Cloud Rear Twin
2012 Dodge Durango Hemi/AWD
Wayne&Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 05:42 PM   #13
Rivet Master
 
Troutboy's Avatar

 
2017 23' Flying Cloud
Parker , Colorado
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,060
Images: 1
Wayne/Sam,

You are correct. When I removed mine, it has the plug. You would have to wire an outlet near it from shore power and plug it in.
__________________
Thanks,
Troutboy
Troutboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 06:45 PM   #14
Rivet Master
 
Wayne&Sam's Avatar
 
2014 25' Flying Cloud
Cuddebackville , New York
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3,070
Images: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Troutboy View Post
Wayne/Sam,

You are correct. When I removed mine, it has the plug. You would have to wire an outlet near it from shore power and plug it in.
I haven't looked lately, but it doesn't seem that adding an outlet near the inverter would be hard to do.
__________________

__________________
2014 25' Flying Cloud Rear Twin
2012 Dodge Durango Hemi/AWD
Wayne&Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Plan to Wire Inverter Power to all Interior Outlets - Need Review kscherzi Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 6 09-02-2017 02:32 PM
Interior Outlets - inverter powered kaylorsan Sprinter and B-van Forum 14 08-27-2013 05:09 AM
Inverter outlets not working FinnSwede Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 10 11-16-2011 04:14 PM
Installing Inverter to run all AC outlets in Airstream Interstate Aahj Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 6 05-17-2010 08:22 PM
Saying goodbye to a dear, dear friend..... Silvertwinkie The Pet Forum 36 02-04-2008 03:42 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.