Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-18-2017, 08:31 PM   #1
Rivet Master
 
PharmGeek's Avatar
 
2014 30' FB FC Bunk
Hoover , Alabama
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,525
Dear Airstream - inverter outlets

Is it not possible to make the inverter run the same outlets you use for shore power?

Ie - when inverter is on but no shore power - no unplugging then replugging?

If so - maybe do that?

That is all.
__________________
“The atoms of our bodies are traceable to stars that manufactured them...We are not figuratively, but literally stardust.”


PharmGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 09:31 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
1974 31' Sovereign
1979 23' Safari
Wayland , New York
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,632
Images: 3
Is it possible? Sure, but would require some rewiring. Plus you'd have to be very careful with hidden parasitic loads, especially if you forget to put the fridge on gas, quick way to drain the batteries. Plus you'd have to be careful about forgetting to turn it off and reverse powering a shore supply down the road.
HiJoeSilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 09:33 PM   #3
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples , Florida
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by PharmGeek View Post
Is it not possible to make the inverter run the same outlets you use for shore power?

Ie - when inverter is on but no shore power - no unplugging then replugging?

If so - maybe do that?

That is all.
PG,

One of the limiting factors in accomplishing your query is the size of the inverter supplied by Airstream. Being only a 1000 watt unit, it does not have the capacity to energize every outlet in the trailer (8.3 amp max.)

Some of the new trainers like the 26U no longer have the redundant dual outlets like your unit has (with the blue stickers) as they have actually made use of the 120VAC pass-thru feature on the WFCO inverter so that a select number (4) 120VAC outlets are inverter powered when off grid and also shore powered when plugged in. This required adding a dedicated 120VAC input circuit in the vicinity of the inverter.

To enable the operation of every outlet in your trailer, you need:
• larger capacity battery bank
• 2000 watt minimum capacity inverter with integrated 120VAC pass-thru
• new split-bus breaker box for both the main and inverter circuits.

I do upgrades like the above to almost every installation that I perform. It's a great feature to have all of your outlets powered when off grid, but there definitely IS a price to pay........
__________________
lewster
Solar Tech Energy Systems, Inc.
Victron Solar Components and Inverters, Zamp Solar Panels, LiFeBlue and Battle Born Lithium Batteries, Lifeline AGM Batteries
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 09:36 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
PharmGeek's Avatar
 
2014 30' FB FC Bunk
Hoover , Alabama
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewster View Post
PG,

One of the limiting factors in accomplishing your query is the size of the inverter supplied by Airstream. Being only a 1000 watt unit, it does not have the capacity to energize every outlet in the trailer (8.3 amp max.)

Some of the new trainers like the 26U no longer have the redundant dual outlets like your unit has (with the blue stickers) as they have actually made use of the 120VAC pass-thru feature on the WFCO inverter so that a select number (4) 120VAC outlets are inverter powered when off grid and also shore powered when plugged in. This required adding a dedicated 120VAC input circuit in the vicinity of the inverter.

To enable the operation of every outlet in your trailer, you need:
• larger capacity battery bank
• 2000 watt minimum capacity inverter with integrated 120VAC pass-thru
• new split-bus breaker box for both the main and inverter circuits.

I do upgrades like the above to almost every installation that I perform. It's a great feature to have all of your outlets powered when off grid, but there definitely IS a price to pay........


News to me!

I would only want this feature "badly" for 3 outlets - 2 TV's and the one that powers the blu ray and such....
__________________
“The atoms of our bodies are traceable to stars that manufactured them...We are not figuratively, but literally stardust.”


PharmGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 11:05 PM   #5
3 Rivet Member
 
J-Dog's Avatar

 
2014 27' Flying Cloud
Fullerton , California
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 133
Warning I may be incorrect in my thinking here, but after reading your first and second post here is my thought.

I am assuming you do not want to keep moving your TV and the DVD player plugs back and forth from the shore powered AC receptacles to the inverted AC receptacles, depending on if you are on shore power or battery power.

Now if I correctly understand the "Pass through" power feature on the inverter...

You would leave the TV's plugged into the "Blue tagged" inverter powered outlets.

After installing a 110 volt AC shore powered receptacle near your inverter and plugging in the "pass through" plug from the inverter to that newly installed receptacle. You could now have those blue stickered 110 Volt AC outlets powered on shore power with the inverter off, and when you are not on shore power you would turn your inverter on to supply the AC voltage for your entertainment system.
You would no longer need to switch the plugs back and forth.

Can anyone let me know if this would be a correct statement?
J-Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 11:08 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
PharmGeek's Avatar
 
2014 30' FB FC Bunk
Hoover , Alabama
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by J-Dog View Post
Warning I may be incorrect in my thinking here, but after reading your first and second post here is my thought.



I am assuming you do not want to keep moving your TV and the DVD player plugs back and forth from the shore powered AC receptacles to the inverted AC receptacles, depending on if you are on shore power or battery power.



Now if I correctly understand the "Pass through" power feature on the inverter...



You would leave the TV's plugged into the "Blue tagged" inverter powered outlets.



After installing a 110 volt AC shore powered receptacle near your inverter and plugging in the "pass through" plug from the inverter to that newly installed receptacle. You could now have those blue stickered 110 Volt AC outlets powered on shore power with the inverter off, and when you are not on shore power you would turn your inverter on to supply the AC voltage for your entertainment system.

You would no longer need to switch the plugs back and forth.



Can anyone let me know if this would be a correct statement?


You are correct about me not wanting to switch the TV plug ins - not at all sure about the specifics of your solution proposed.....
__________________
“The atoms of our bodies are traceable to stars that manufactured them...We are not figuratively, but literally stardust.”


PharmGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 01:59 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
1974 31' Sovereign
1979 23' Safari
Wayland , New York
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,632
Images: 3
Not all inverters are pass through, but if there is an outlet nearby that you could plug in a pass through inverter into, you could upgrade to one and leave the things plugged into the inverter outlets all the time, as mentioned by j-dog. Not sure what AS put in your rig.
HiJoeSilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 11:10 AM   #8
Rivet Master
 
Troutboy's Avatar

 
2017 23' Flying Cloud
Parker , Colorado
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,651
Images: 1
I recently did a solar upgrade that involved a new 2400W inverter, and sub panels as Lewster mentions. It's great. Every outlet provides AC when on shore power and while boondocking with inverter on. It's really great. If you would like to see a. Wiring diagram PM me. To do the wiring and new inverter to make this work would cost between $1500-$2000 depending on the inverter you chose
__________________
Thanks,
Troutboy
Troutboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 12:21 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
Rgentum's Avatar
 
2016 27' Flying Cloud
Olympia , Washington
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 614
I have this feature on my boat (but not trailer) with a 2.8K watt Magnum inverter/charger, but that unit alone on Amazon is $1,640, & there was a substantial amount of other equipment + wiring that was required.

https://www.amazon.com/Magnum-MS2812...verter+charger
__________________
Alta & Richard, Olympia, WA --- WBCCI 8873
"Aurum": 2018 Ram/Cummins 3500
"Argentum": 2016 AS FC 27 FB
"BigDog": M Harlequin Great Dane, 150 lb
WL7Z --- NAUI --- WSBA
Rgentum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 01:32 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
PharmGeek's Avatar
 
2014 30' FB FC Bunk
Hoover , Alabama
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,525
So basically, even to have a few of these types of dual outlets as such, it just means more $$....

I am not sure I want to drop 2K for such an upgrade...but maybe at some point...

I just wondered just how much AS had saved doing it with 2 sets of these outlets vs just making them dual use.
__________________
“The atoms of our bodies are traceable to stars that manufactured them...We are not figuratively, but literally stardust.”


PharmGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 03:35 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
lsbrodsky's Avatar

 
2012 25' FB International
Trent Woods , North Carolina
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3,121
I am not sure that they would have saved any money. If they had used inverters with passthrough capability, and even the Chinese inverters have that, then one set of outlets at each location would have worked. It strikes me that they were trying to prevent overloading the puny 600w, then 1000w, inverters with non-entertainment system loads.

Larry
lsbrodsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 04:39 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
Wayne&Sam's Avatar
 
2014 25' Flying Cloud
Cuddebackville , New York
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,055
Images: 21
I believe the 1000 watt stock inverter does allow for passthrough, the outlets just aren't wired for it. I say this because there is a button on my inverter and a label that says what position it needs to be in for passthrough.
__________________
2014 25' Flying Cloud Rear Twin
2019 Ford Expedition Platinum
Wayne&Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 04:42 PM   #13
Rivet Master
 
Troutboy's Avatar

 
2017 23' Flying Cloud
Parker , Colorado
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,651
Images: 1
Wayne/Sam,

You are correct. When I removed mine, it has the plug. You would have to wire an outlet near it from shore power and plug it in.
__________________
Thanks,
Troutboy
Troutboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 05:45 PM   #14
Rivet Master
 
Wayne&Sam's Avatar
 
2014 25' Flying Cloud
Cuddebackville , New York
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,055
Images: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Troutboy View Post
Wayne/Sam,

You are correct. When I removed mine, it has the plug. You would have to wire an outlet near it from shore power and plug it in.
I haven't looked lately, but it doesn't seem that adding an outlet near the inverter would be hard to do.
__________________
2014 25' Flying Cloud Rear Twin
2019 Ford Expedition Platinum
Wayne&Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 06:19 PM   #15
3 Rivet Member
 
RonaldC303's Avatar
 
2017 30' Classic
Washington , Utah
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by PharmGeek View Post
Is it not possible to make the inverter run the same outlets you use for shore power?

Ie - when inverter is on but no shore power - no unplugging then replugging?

If so - maybe do that?

That is all.
The 2017 Classics have that feature for the entertainment outlets. When using the tv, there is no need to change outlets whether on shore power or inverter. So it can, and is being done by the factory to some extent.

Ron
RonaldC303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 06:46 PM   #16
Overkill Specialist
Commercial Member
 
GMFL's Avatar

 
2020 30’ Globetrotter
2014 23' International
Dadeville , Alabama
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 4,401
Images: 4
Blog Entries: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Troutboy View Post
Wayne/Sam,

You are correct. When I removed mine, it has the plug. You would have to wire an outlet near it from shore power and plug it in.
That's what I did with mine. Bought a WFCO 1000watt inverter out of a 2016 26U and wired plug for inverter pass through and it runs the TV plug, dinette plug and plug for DVD player. No need for second plug
GMFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 08:31 PM   #17
Rivet Master
 
PharmGeek's Avatar
 
2014 30' FB FC Bunk
Hoover , Alabama
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonaldC303 View Post
The 2017 Classics have that feature for the entertainment outlets. When using the tv, there is no need to change outlets whether on shore power or inverter. So it can, and is being done by the factory to some extent.



Ron


Oh ok - interesting - thanks.
__________________
“The atoms of our bodies are traceable to stars that manufactured them...We are not figuratively, but literally stardust.”


PharmGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 04:15 AM   #18
Full time Airstreamer
 
SCOTTinNJ's Avatar
 
2014 30' FB FC Bunk
Anywhere , USA Living.Somewhere.Yonder
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,359
My 30' has the 1000w inverter plug taped from the factory. If I plug that into a 120v outlet the inverter will pass power to my blue inverter outlets when on shore power? Seems easy enough to do. There is a 120v outlet nearby.
__________________
@living.somewhere.yonder | Instagram
SCOTTinNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 08:08 AM   #19
Rivet Master
 
Troutboy's Avatar

 
2017 23' Flying Cloud
Parker , Colorado
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,651
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCOTTinNJ View Post
My 30' has the 1000w inverter plug taped from the factory. If I plug that into a 120v outlet the inverter will pass power to my blue inverter outlets when on shore power? Seems easy enough to do. There is a 120v outlet nearby.


Yes, that should do it.
__________________
Thanks,
Troutboy
Troutboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 09:08 AM   #20
Old Sailor
 
McArthur's Avatar
 
1983 34' Excella
Victoria , Texas
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 48
It would take some rewiring but here is a simple way to handle the problem.

https://www.grainger.com/product/HUB...AS01?$smthumb$

It's a three way switch. You would connect the inverter to one side and the shore power to the other. The switch is then connected to the outlet circuit. Moving the switch to one side feeds the inverter output to the outlet circuit and moving it to the other side feeds the shore power to the outlet circuit.

I have a similar system, using a more robust switch, that switches one of the circuits in my house from mains power to generator power in the event of a power outage. I chose to go this route because of the cost of the automatic switches.

I have a 5000 watt modified sine wave inverter that I'm planning to use in my 34 footer and wire it up this way.
__________________
-------
'82 Excella 34' "AlumaLady"
'18 Ram 2500 Lonestar
"Mollie Bug" The Boston Terrier
WBCCI #4456 - Born to Cruise
McArthur is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Plan to Wire Inverter Power to all Interior Outlets - Need Review kscherzi Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 6 09-02-2017 01:32 PM
Interior Outlets - inverter powered kaylorsan Sprinter and B-van Forum 14 08-27-2013 04:09 AM
Inverter outlets not working FinnSwede Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 10 11-16-2011 03:14 PM
Installing Inverter to run all AC outlets in Airstream Interstate Aahj Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 6 05-17-2010 07:22 PM
Saying goodbye to a dear, dear friend..... Silvertwinkie The Pet Forum 36 02-04-2008 02:42 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.