Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Boondocking
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-28-2018, 01:17 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2018 16' Sport
Sherwood , Oregon
Battery setup for Boondocking

Newbie here; proud owner of a 16' Sport. I envision a lot of remote camping near great flyfishing rivers and need advice on a battery setup that could provide for several days somewhere in the middle of Montana. (Thanks, Hag!) I know a small generator would be part of the mix as well. Thank you!
Boomer51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2018, 07:41 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1986 25' Sovereign
2008 F350, 6.4L diesel , Oak Harbor, WA
The main battery load comes from running a heater. The RV water heater and refrigerator can run on propane and only use a small amount of electrical power for the controllers. Using LED lamps keep the lighting load small. I guess if you need to watch TV or other such thing then that will take more power.

Many folks setup a non electric heater to eliminate the load on the battery.

In my trailer I have installed a Li-ion 2.2 kWhr battery which provide several days of use even with the furnace running.

fyi, in the PNW the annual average of sunlight is three hours a day, so if you want to go solar keep that in mind.
sgschwend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2018, 09:47 AM   #3
Rivet Master

2008 22' Safari
Spicewood (W of Austin) , Texas
If you have a small generator as you mention.... you will be fine with an ordinary flooded-cell battery. Boondocking is not as difficult as some suggest as the main thing you'll need is lighting at night and LED lamps will run for weeks on an ordinary battery. With the gen available... you'll have no issues at all.