Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-22-2014, 07:24 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member

1979 31' Excella 500
Charlevoix , Michigan
Understanding Electrical - Is my diagram correct?

I'm about ready to order parts to refit our old 1979 Airstream Excella's electrical system, but wanted to make sure I've comprehended the way things should be setup. I've never done this before, and have done a lot of learning, so I'm hoping y'all can confirm or help me fix the below diagram I put together:

Click image for larger version

Name:	diagram.png
Views:	491
Size:	177.4 KB
ID:	227176

Here are the items I'm considering for each component:
  1. Power Converter: Boondocker 4 Stage Power Center 60 Amp (BPC4-60)
  2. Power Inverter: SSW-2000-12A 2000 Watt Pure Sine Inverter with 4000 Watt Surge
  3. Generator - Option 1: Powerhouse PH3100Ri Inverter Generator
  4. Generator - Option 2: Amazon.com : Champion Power Equipment No.75531i Inverter Generator, 3100-watt : Patio, Lawn & Garden
Any feedback on those would be great. Also, I am in need of a recommendation for the following components:
  1. Auto-transfer Power Relay. Used to auto-switch the camper's 120v power plugs to the Inverter when Shore Power isn't available.
  2. Battery Isolator Relay. Used to effectively disconnect the camper's 12v battery bank from the tow vehicle's 12v (via the trailer wiring) when the tow-vehicle isn't on.

Thank you for your help!
trekerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2014, 11:09 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1986 34' Limited
1975 27' Overlander
1969 21' Globetrotter
Conifer , Colorado