Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > LP Gas, Piping, Tanks & Regulators
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-27-2015, 07:40 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1961 22' Safari
Collegeville , Pennsylvania
LPG Line Questions

I'm a total newbie so please forgive me if this is too basic a question.

We recently purchased a 1960 Safari and it has it's original range, refrigerator and hot water heater. It also has an older replacement space heater furnace.

I don't know if any of it works and I purchased the trailer assuming it would need work. I'd definitely like to re-use the oven / range and fridge for sure.

I plan on updating the plumbing and replacing the water heater. However, before I can figure that part out I want to first understand the LPG lines.

The LPG lines on my trailer run outside the belly pan on the street side. There's a T- to go up into the trailer for the furnace, then a T up for the range, then a T- to the curbside for the refer, and then the line continues past (and under) the axle until it goes up and into the water heater.

First question... Should these lines be outside the belly pan or inside? The line under the axle has been crushed by what I assume was a misplaced jack.

Second question... the line is held to the belly pan by aluminum strips riveted in place. In some places the aluminum has corroded and will need to be replaced. Is there a better fastening system? I've read about running the lines inside a PEX tube to protect from rocks, etc. I guess that would eliminate the dissimilar metal corrosion too.