Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > Sprinter and B-van Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-21-2018, 12:05 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2015 Interstate Ext. Coach
Saint Louis , Missouri
Hook up a portable solar panel to AI to charge house

I bought a 100W portable solar panel to charge the house battery while boondocking/tailgating. I'm doing this now instead of just going straight to a solar upgrade both for time, convenience and since I'm new to this and really don't know how much I will be off of hook ups. Has anyone done this or are using it and if so have you wired in a convenient permanant connector to the battery bank or are you using aligator clamps. My model has the batteries under the rear seat so the terminals aren't convenient and I'm thinking a permanant wired I plug will be best. Possibly mounted outside of the van near the cable outlet or more lazily inside the coach and I can just run it out the back doors when parked.

Any thoughts? I have included the panel I bought.

Renogy 100 Watt 12 Volt Monocrystalline Foldable Portable Solar Suitcase with Voyager Waterproof Charge Controller https://www.amazon.com/dp/B079JVBVL3/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_uAthCbG1HF4AM
CharlieOscar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 12:17 PM   #2
Wolfwhistle

Margaritaville , Banana Republic
Many ways to skin this cat. What about a cigarette lighter type plug. Many small air compressors use the same plug, and that would be convenient for that too. Be sure polarity is observed, maintain wire gauge all the way and fuse it (+) near the battery at 20A.

https://www.wholesalemarine.com/mari...eceptacle.html

Clint
Old 12-21-2018, 12:40 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2018 Interstate Lounge Ext
LV , Nevada