Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-04-2008, 09:20 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1977 31' Sovereign
Prineville , Oregon
Trailer weight Vs length

Folks,
I'm fairly new to trailering and looking to buy a new tow vehicle in the next few months. I've been reading all I can find here, but I have one nagging question. It seems that all the recommendations for vehicles are based on trailer length rather than weight. I have a 27ft '78 Soveriegn with GVW of 6,200lbs. I noticed that a 2008 of the same length is 1,400lbs heavier! My AS is a remodel and will probably come out even lighter than the factory spec. The empty and dry weight is about 4,500lbs. So shouldn't the weight be the determining factor? With such variation in weight between models, does length really mean anything?
Then the next part is, if I end up with a trailer with an over the road weight of about 5,500 lbs, is the new Tundra 5.7L enough truck to handle mountainous towing? Anybody with a similar rig? The factory specs say it should be fine, but I've seen many posts listing a 22ft trailer as about max for that size truck. Am I missing something?

Thanks
David
DasAir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 11:38 PM   #2
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
West of Fort Worth , Texas
David you're absolutely right, go by weight, not length. But, as a general rule, the longer ones do weigh more, the newer ones also weigh more than older, especially more than vintage.
Don't use the dry weight as your determining factor. That is the weight without water, propane, camping equipment, etc. Many folks figure an additional 1000# over dry weight, although I think could shave some off of that.