Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Interior Restoration Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-22-2005, 07:39 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

End cap repair

After spending a small fortune and many hours repairing my end cap (removed) I have one thought that has been nagging me. The majority of cracks on the ABS started from the front roof locker. The locker had plywood between the locker and lower lip of the cap. I assume this was Airstreams attempt keeping the locker from bouncing. WOOD SHRINKS. Has anyone addressed this issue with good results? See attached picture. I have a lot of ideas, BUT experience is king.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 091.JPG
Views:	230
Size:	52.7 KB
ID:	10552  
Old 02-22-2005, 08:20 PM   #2
Airstream Newbie

1974 25' Tradewind
Murphy , Texas
I had the same problem with cracks in the front end cap of my '74 Tradewind. I originally thought I'd use fiberglass mesh and plastic epoxy to repair from the back side of the end cap, but after some repairs in the bathroom I changed my mind. I used the Por 15 Epoxy Putty on a crack in the shower seat and it sealed beautifully. The putty made a great bond, dried rock solid, sanded to a smooth finish, and accepted paint well. So, I'm now using the putty to repair my end cap cracks as well. Don't have longterm experience on how it will hold up, but so far I've been pleased with the strength of the bathroom repair.
mwmoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 10:59 PM   #3
3 Rivet Member

Wink

GSymes would you give us more info (and more pictures if possible).

What year and model is your Airstream?
Would like to hear you account of removal of the end cap and do's & dont's plus any unexpected problems etc.