Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-05-2008, 06:43 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2013 30' International
Ottawa , Ontario
Smile towing with a Nissan Pathfinder

Hi,

I have a Nissan Pathfinder V6 (275HP) with 6000# tow rate and 600# hitch weight.

I am considering purchasing either a 19 or a 23 foot International. Obviously, the 23 foot would be preferred (I am planning to be away foro about 6 weeks during our very the long winter months) but I am concerned that its listed hitch wight is 700#.

Would either a Hensley of Reese Dual address this problem, or would I be better off with the 19 foot Bambi.

I am new to this so any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks
sunseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 07:31 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 25' Safari FB SE
St. Cloud , Minnesota
Hello sunseeker -- Welcome to the Forums! Pathfinder? Maybe a 19' Bambi but I surely wouldn't go much larger. The Pathfinder-titled http://www.airforums.com/forums/f463...ccd-38632.html thread doesn't really address the issue. But Pathfinders are mentioned quite often if you do a general search -- there's a bit of work to pick through the threads.

Excess muscle is always the easy answer to any tow equation. I do feel that a 23-footer is asking too much of a 6 cylinder Pathfinder. Consider that the listed 700# 23' International hitch weight does not reflect the added weight of propane in the tanks or weight distribution gear mounted at the A-frame/bumper. Most of this up front weight is going to add to hitch weight. With a modest amount of personal gear aboard I will almost guarantee a hitch weight of 850# -- probably a bit more.