Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Winterizing, Storage, Carports & Covers
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-05-2023, 06:41 PM   #1

2022 16' Basecamp
Mesilla , New Mexico
When is it safe to de-winterize

I will be picking up my new Basecamp 16 RV sometime in the next month. I am new to rv-ing, so I'm wondering when it is really safe to de-winterize it. I live in southern New Mexico in the desert. We can get freezing nights on and off well into March. I will not be living in it but will be doing weekend and vacation travel. So should I wait until we get past the "official" last day of frost (March 20)?

Thanks for your advice!
lcschultz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2023, 07:27 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member

2018 25' International
Full-time , Traveler
First, congrats on your new Basecamp. We’re in ABQ now and will head up to Santa Fe in a couple weeks. We full-time and generally try to stay where it’s warmest, but my wife is an avid skier so we end up in cold locales every year. Living in it actually makes things easy. We don’t hook up a water hose, but fill the fresh tank and use that. We set the furnace to 55 at night and it works well.

Before we were full-time, we lived in DC and still camped year round. When we finished a winter trip we would drain the fresh tank, open the low point drains as well as the water heater drain, and then use our air compressor to blow the lines of most of the water that may have been left behind. We never used antifreeze and always camped 12 months a year.
Jeff7176 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2023, 11:34 AM   #3
Rivet Master

2017 25' International
West Lake Hills , Texas