RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2014, 01:02 PM   #1
Archie
 
archiedh's Avatar
 
2014 30' Flying Cloud
Ridgeland , Mississippi
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 50
Images: 4
DirecTV/Winegard G2 Sat Setup

I am trying to setup my DirecTV (H24 receiver) with a new Windgard G2 auto sat dish. I can't seem to get the receiver to work/get the signal. I've had the box activated while on the phone with DT and still no luck. I think I'm close, but I must be missing something. I'm gonna work at it again this weekend and plan to move the sat dish around some to see if that helps. Although, I feel like I have had a really clear view of the southern/southwestern sky. This is not my first time to setup a sat dish. If you can think of any think I might try, please feel free to comment. Thanks!
archiedh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2014, 01:28 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member
 
Durango , Colorado
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
For Directv, I think channel 100 is in the clear so you should be able to receive it whether your receiver is activated or not.

I am not familiar with the G2 Winegard antenna but if it is not an SWM (Single Wire Multiplexed) LNB then you will also need a B-band converter on the coax to the receiver. It is a small inline filter that attaches between the Coax and the receiver.

Another cause for lack of signal (assuming the Auto G2 is working properly) is a splitter that does not pass the proper bandwidth. You need a special splitter to split Satellite Coax.
RVDreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2014, 04:24 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
Moflash's Avatar
 
2007 28' International CCD
Springfield , Missouri
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,423
Push the antenna amplifier button to on inside the trailer.Should be located on the cable jack plate.I have a 28ft International and is is below the dinette.
Moflash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2014, 10:31 PM   #4
4 Rivet Member
 
extiger's Avatar
 
2011 30' Classic
Kingwood , Texas
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 258
Images: 1
You may want to hookup the dish, receiver and TV independent of the trailer and make sure it works. If set up is ok then trailer issue. If trailer problem, as previously noted most likely cable/on air switch setting. Also be sure that jumper cable is removed and cables connected to in/out connections to/from receiver.
__________________
2011 30' Classic
2015 Ford F250 4X4 Platinum
ProPride Hitch
extiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 12:30 AM   #5
2 Rivet Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 45
I have a G2 with a H24 receiver. How are you connecting the coax to the receiver? I have a 2014 international 23fb and my coax was located with my blue ray player. Also select 3-LNB (18x20) with the multi switch. You do not us the b band converters since the dish does not support HD for directv. I hope this helps.


Sent from my iPad using Airstream Forums
firemed509 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 09:56 AM   #6
3 Rivet Member
 
Bigcgar's Avatar
 
2015 25' FB International
2011 23' International
Larkspur , Colorado
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 180
I just did this last weekend with my G2. As mentioned make sure to follow receiver set up with LB and multi-switch settings. I ended up running my coax directly to the back of the receiver and then running the HDMI cable to the TV. I tried connecting the coax to the outside coax outlet, but it must be going through some type of switch, which you cannot do. I ended up removing a screw on the screen and running it into the cabin. It wasn't pretty but worked. I'll work on the getting to the outside outlet when I have time to determine how to ad void the coax switching. Good luck. It was the first time I had ever had any tv in my unit and I enjoyed watching some football on Thursday night in the backwoods.

Cheers,
Bigcgar


Sent from my iPad using Airstream Forums
__________________
Allan & Vicki
Larkspur, CO
Be well, fish on!
Bigcgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 10:52 AM   #7
Archie
 
archiedh's Avatar
 
2014 30' Flying Cloud
Ridgeland , Mississippi
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 50
Images: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by RVDreamer View Post
For Directv, I think channel 100 is in the clear so you should be able to receive it whether your receiver is activated or not.

I am not familiar with the G2 Winegard antenna but if it is not an SWM (Single Wire Multiplexed) LNB then you will also need a B-band converter on the coax to the receiver. It is a small inline filter that attaches between the Coax and the receiver.

Another cause for lack of signal (assuming the Auto G2 is working properly) is a splitter that does not pass the proper bandwidth. You need a special splitter to split Satellite Coax.
I'll have to check my splitter/switcher. I'll probably take the S-S out of line and connect TV directly to receiver via HDMI cable. Do you happen to know what the correct bandwidth should be?
archiedh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 10:54 AM   #8
Archie
 
archiedh's Avatar
 
2014 30' Flying Cloud
Ridgeland , Mississippi
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 50
Images: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moflash View Post
Push the antenna amplifier button to on inside the trailer.Should be located on the cable jack plate.I have a 28ft International and is is below the dinette.
Where the green light will be on?
archiedh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 11:07 AM   #9
Rivet Master
 
Moflash's Avatar
 
2007 28' International CCD
Springfield , Missouri
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,423
Yes


Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums
Moflash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 11:28 AM   #10
3 Rivet Member
 
Bigcgar's Avatar
 
2015 25' FB International
2011 23' International
Larkspur , Colorado
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 180
I don't believe you can go through the switch. The manual indicates this so you need to completely avoid any switch. That's why I went directly to receiver. I'm sure there is a way to direct connect using the coax outlet on the outside of your AS and bypassing the switch, but I haven't spent time on it yet. If you pull off the inside coax outlet you'll see 2or3 coax cables terminating into the outlet and I'm sure one comes in directly from the outside to this switch.


Sent from my iPad using Airstream Forums
__________________
Allan & Vicki
Larkspur, CO
Be well, fish on!
Bigcgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 11:32 AM   #11
Rivet Master
 
Moflash's Avatar
 
2007 28' International CCD
Springfield , Missouri
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,423
Switch won't affect anything as it is the same signal as cable it was designed for


Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums
Moflash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 11:36 AM   #12
3 Rivet Member
 
Bigcgar's Avatar
 
2015 25' FB International
2011 23' International
Larkspur , Colorado
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 180
It didn't work for me!!! I had to bypass it to get it to work


Sent from my iPad using Airstream Forums
__________________
Allan & Vicki
Larkspur, CO
Be well, fish on!
Bigcgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 11:40 AM   #13
3 Rivet Member
 
Bigcgar's Avatar
 
2015 25' FB International
2011 23' International
Larkspur , Colorado
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 180
See photo..Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAirstream Forums1410626434.649686.jpg
Views:	509
Size:	427.7 KB
ID:	221674


Sent from my iPad using Airstream Forums
__________________
Allan & Vicki
Larkspur, CO
Be well, fish on!
Bigcgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 01:44 PM   #14
4 Rivet Member
 
Durango , Colorado
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moflash View Post
Switch won't affect anything as it is the same signal as cable it was designed for


Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums
No, you can not use a switch or splitter unless it is specifically designed for Satellite tv bandwidth. Most common splitters and switches will not pass the proper band for Directv receivers as they are designed for cable tv which uses a vary narrow bandwidth compared to Directv satellite.

If you go to solidsignal.com or possibly Radio Shack you can buy Directv satellite splitters.

Your best bet is to go directly from the satellite antenna to the receiver. Then use HDMI connection from receiver to TV. If you get a HDMI splitter you can run Blueray, Satellite, to main and bedroom tv if available.

I would not use the external connection, unless you by pass the switch.
RVDreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2014, 02:21 PM   #15
Archie
 
archiedh's Avatar
 
2014 30' Flying Cloud
Ridgeland , Mississippi
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 50
Images: 4
Got it working.
archiedh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2014, 04:16 PM   #16
Archie
 
archiedh's Avatar
 
2014 30' Flying Cloud
Ridgeland , Mississippi
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 50
Images: 4
Unhappy

Here are some pictures of the setup for the BluRay, DirectTV receiver and the splitter/switcher for two TV's. The Winegard G2 is the sat dish I'm using. I can watch DirectTV and/or BluRay in living room or in the bedroom at the same time. Excited that this little project is in place and over!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	177
Size:	62.1 KB
ID:	221853  
archiedh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2014, 05:13 PM   #17
Archie
 
archiedh's Avatar
 
2014 30' Flying Cloud
Ridgeland , Mississippi
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 50
Images: 4
This is what I setup if anyone is interested.

There were two HDMI cables. Three counting the BluRay. One for living room TV. One for bedroom TV. I bought a splitter/switcher. It has two out puts. I plugged in the living room TV into the A out put and the bedroom TV into the B out put. The S/S also has 4 HDMI inputs. I plugged the sat box HDMI from the box into the #1 input in the S/S. I plugged the existing BluRay HDMI into the #2 slot in the S/S. #3 and #4 remain empty for any future needs such as a video game, etc. This S/S has a remote control. It has two main buttons, A and B (for me, A = living room and B=bedroom). Around the A button is buttons 1,2,3,and 4. (1=sat box, 2=BluRay) Same thing for the B (bedroom). So now I can watch sat and or BluRay in either area at the same time. Clear as mud???? ;-))
archiedh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 02:43 PM   #18
1 Rivet Member
 
2015 30' International
Springdale , Arkansas
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 19
archiedh,
Nice set up. Wanting to do the same.
So next to my blueray (factory installed) I see two USB inputs but not HDMI. Should there be HDMI cables up there in back of the blueray? Also is that where you put the satellite receiver? I have a 2015 30'Int. It has the satellite port on the outside, but I'm not sure where the port wiring goes, nor where you mount the sat reciever? Under dinette or up with blueray player? Lastly, what brand splitter did you buy?
tnx
BlueMesa
BlueMesa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 03:34 PM   #19
Rivet Master
 
rodsterinfl's Avatar

 
2006 25' Safari
St. Augustine , Florida
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,527
Images: 8
A hot water heater anode.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Photo on 11-30-14 at 4.28 PM.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	119.9 KB
ID:	227767  
__________________
WBCCI 8653/AIR 60240
2017 Ford F-150 3.5 Ecobeast Gen 2 3.55 Platinum
rodsterinfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 04:24 PM   #20
Rivet Master
 
rodsterinfl's Avatar

 
2006 25' Safari
St. Augustine , Florida
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,527
Images: 8
sorry for the post on the anode. Something strange happened on my end. My screen was showing two different pages and I THOUGHT I was posting on the what did you get new for your trailer today thread. DUH.
__________________
WBCCI 8653/AIR 60240
2017 Ford F-150 3.5 Ecobeast Gen 2 3.55 Platinum
rodsterinfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Winegard carry on satellite setup geeman 2009-2015 Flying Cloud 1 09-09-2012 09:48 PM
Winegard RoadTrip Minimax - no sat reception??? aausland Computers, Internet & Satellite 2 04-29-2010 10:47 AM
Directv DSL John Off Topic Forum 16 01-17-2003 07:26 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.